Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-19-2013, 09:23 PM   #61
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
angelmisty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 62
You pump the water thay drop back up into the tank silly... Its a massive filter...im just saying with a totally pro setup..huge tank, stand n all.some HOB filter wount do it.. Use that stand fer more than putting ur flake food in.lol

Was gonna ask how u plan to cycle the 75? Fish in or out?
__________________

__________________
angelmisty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 10:27 PM   #62
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Old Scales's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fort Smith, Arkansas
Posts: 2,752
Hey Speed,
If you decide to stay with hang on back filters instead of cannisters, I have a suggestion that can save you some major money. Buy a pack of the bulk filter floss and cut your own inserts using one of the expensive ready made ones as a template. The bulk floss is blue on one side and white on the other. I get mine at Petsmart for about 6 bucks. It will last you a long time as the media can be rinsed out and reused a bunch of times. It won't have the charcoal in it but that is something you really don't need unless you're removing medication. Good luck and keep asking questions. We'll be glad to help. OS.
__________________

__________________
Bonified member of "The Wet Arm Society".
One's life should be measured by the number of people who smile when they remember you.
Old Scales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 01:52 AM   #63
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by angelmisty View Post
You pump the water thay drop back up into the tank silly... Its a massive filter...im just saying with a totally pro setup..huge tank, stand n all.some HOB filter wount do it.. Use that stand fer more than putting ur flake food in.lol

Was gonna ask how u plan to cycle the 75? Fish in or out?
Lol. That's way too much too quick lol. Think I'm gonna have to use it for my flake food. I've only got into the hobby in the past few months & never had anything besides a beta bowl before lol. In the past 2 wks I've shelled out - idk 1k or more & still going. & I dnt have it like that, but somehow it's happening. Anyway, I dnt wanna have to go through the mess I'm dealing with the 40g. I think it may still be cycling, idk. Gotta work on it constantly, so the 75 I'm going to try to do fishless b4 I do anything. I'm going to use straight liquid ammonia though. I'll have to figure out how much & what to do afterwards but I'll cross that bridge soon enough. Going to pick the tank up ( in a hatchback camaro) lol in about 8 hrs.
__________________
Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 01:57 AM   #64
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Scales View Post
Hey Speed,
If you decide to stay with hang on back filters instead of cannisters, I have a suggestion that can save you some major money. Buy a pack of the bulk filter floss and cut your own inserts using one of the expensive ready made ones as a template. The bulk floss is blue on one side and white on the other. I get mine at Petsmart for about 6 bucks. It will last you a long time as the media can be rinsed out and reused a bunch of times. It won't have the charcoal in it but that is something you really don't need unless you're removing medication. Good luck and keep asking questions. We'll be glad to help. OS.
Thanks. I will look at them in the morning. Does it matter which color faces which direction ? Do I put it in with my charcoal cartridge or does that replace it ? I prolly will stay with the hang on back filters since its what I've bought so far & as a noob, I dnt know what my other choices are & it all snds so complicated. My brain is overloaded lol. I will pick some up though for sure. Thanks again
__________________
Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 02:29 AM   #65
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 155
Is there such a thing as too much filtration ? Say i have a 40g tank with a filter rated for 40, wld it be ok to put 2 of those filters on it. Asking in regards to that tank as well as the 75. Filter is rated for UP TO 75. So thinking about 2 of those ? Or maybe just it & say a 30 or 40 g filter just to save a lil cost & still do the Job.
__________________
Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 02:53 AM   #66
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Scottyhorse's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,823
Do a canister on the 75.
__________________
Starting over...... Kinda.

3, 20, 25, 33 Gallon FW Tanks.....For Now


Scottyhorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 08:42 AM   #67
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottyhorse View Post
Do a canister on the 75.
I will look at them. Never used one & dnt know much about them though. I watched a couple videos on them last night & I might be wrong but it looks pretty complicated, looks like you'd have to drill holes into the bottom of your aquarium for the tubing ? I've already bought 1 Hob but I cld always use it on the 40. So I'll look at them, just trying to stay as far away as complicated as possible. Want it to look nice & all, but it's all a learning curve. Trial & error. It's why I'm here - to avoid errors lol
__________________
Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 08:57 AM   #68
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 155
Rock or sand on freshwater tropical 75g ? Any thoughts ? I've got rock in my 2 smaller ones. Have never done sand. Not sure if that's personal preference or a freshwater/saltwater thing. I sure hope this fits in my car lol. Got about a good 45 min ride.
__________________
Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 09:25 AM   #69
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
angelmisty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 62
Your learning curve is only as shallow as ur questions. And u ask good ones. U cant really overfilter, bit u could cause too much current for certain fish.
Using a sump does not mean u have to drill your tank. U can,but not absolutle necessary. Im a new aqua head too, maybe 6 months or so. If i could offer some advice...its uber easy to take the advice of some one at a LFS and buy everything they say you "need".
Mr X and Rivercats are a wealth of knowledge. Soo many thing can be built or re-utilized. Do not fear DIY projects. As with anything research till ur bored, then re-research. It really helps me understand the theorys and operation of things. Think fish every free daydream moment u have. Ur on the right track.

But lets bring this back to original topic. Replacing filter media. When u go to pick up ur tank today, get a medium or coarse media bag, and about 300 grams of ceramic rings. I think rings have an amount to gallons of the tank. But with a HOB filter i think this should be ur best bet of esablishing a strong, transferable bacty colony.

Between your filter cartrage and its overflow, put a media bag with ur movable, permanent media. Im telling u...the larger the space for bacterial growth, the larger/stronger the colony, the less time spent testing/worrying/doing massive water changes daily/.
__________________
angelmisty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 09:29 AM   #70
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by angelmisty View Post
Your learning curve is only as shallow as ur questions. And u ask good ones. U cant really overfilter, bit u could cause too much current for certain fish.
Using a sump does not mean u have to drill your tank. U can,but not absolutle necessary. Im a new aqua head too, maybe 6 months or so. If i could offer some advice...its uber easy to take the advice of some one at a LFS and buy everything they say you "need".
Mr X and Rivercats are a wealth of knowledge. Soo many thing can be built or re-utilized. Do not fear DIY projects. As with anything research till ur bored, then re-research. It really helps me understand the theorys and operation of things. Think fish every free daydream moment u have. Ur on the right track.

But lets bring this back to original topic. Replacing filter media. When u go to pick up ur tank today, get a medium or coarse media bag, and about 300 grams of ceramic rings. I think rings have an amount to gallons of the tank. But with a HOB filter i think this should be ur best bet of esablishing a strong, transferable bacty colony.

Between your filter cartrage and its overflow, put a media bag with ur movable, permanent media. Im telling u...the larger the space for bacterial growth, the larger/stronger the colony, the less time spent testing/worrying/doing massive water changes daily/.
Thank u very much. Taking notes & things to look at/ pick up. Going to get it now. Yay ! Lol
__________________
Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 09:31 AM   #71
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
angelmisty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 62
Good luck!! Watch fer them potholes
__________________
angelmisty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 01:22 PM   #72
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 155
This thing is a monster lol. Takes up most of my living room wall. I hope the floor joist will hold its filled weight ( we live upstairs ). I got a few odds & ends but ran outta cash. A starting point anyway. I got aquaclear biomax filter inserts for 60-110 gal. Bio-boost for cycling & a few dead fish (about 8). So I'm going to cycle that way. 50pds of gravel & 48 -60 in led lights. I know I need more ( alot more ) but right now I'm broke. It's cost me a fortune, but I think the most expensive stuff is past me. So anyway, it's here.

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-269143181.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	97.3 KB
ID:	181514
__________________
Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 01:24 PM   #73
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 155
A few of the accessories. Going to be working on cleaning it, putting filters together, gravel in, background on, heater in it, full of water & starting the process. Got my work cut out for me tonight

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3625053866.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	184.4 KB
ID:	181516
__________________
Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 02:32 PM   #74
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by gravereaper0 View Post
The freshwater master test kit does have a nitrate tester in it, its a 2 part. Make sure to shake up the 2nd bottle real good before using it.
I second and third that suggestion. I shake the dickens out of both bottles for about a minute before using them. Bottle #2 of the nitrAte test seems to precipitate out and needs to really be shaken to get the reagents back into solution.

Make sure you follow the directions to the letter, and hold the reagent bottles upside down when dropping them in, so that you get uniform drops, etc.
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 02:36 PM   #75
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmolavi View Post

I second and third that suggestion. I shake the dickens out of both bottles for about a minute before using them. Bottle #2 of the nitrAte test seems to precipitate out and needs to really be shaken to get the reagents back into solution.

Make sure you follow the directions to the letter, and hold the reagent bottles upside down when dropping them in, so that you get uniform drops, etc.
Got it. First one I ordered & got the wrong one. It was a freshwater reef master & didn't do ammonia. I've got a freshwater now that does & tested all levels yesterday with 50% wc. Water looks much better. Going to test again tonight. Trying to set up the 75 now.
__________________
Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 03:00 PM   #76
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Old Scales's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fort Smith, Arkansas
Posts: 2,752
Way to go, speed. Following along. OS.
__________________
Bonified member of "The Wet Arm Society".
One's life should be measured by the number of people who smile when they remember you.
Old Scales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 03:03 PM   #77
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 155
My progress in 2 hrs lol. Rinsing 50 lbs of gravel will make you feel old. Realizing now my Rock color & background do NOT match lol. Wld like it done right & look good but being so new to it & on a budget, I'm not gonna beat myself up. But here it is as of now. Gonna be a long night

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4086512026.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	100.6 KB
ID:	181534
__________________
Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 03:05 PM   #78
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Scales View Post
Way to go, speed. Following along. OS.
Lol yeah. I might be broke now, but not a quitter. Not gonna be the biggest, fanciest, or most expensive but 2 mos into the hobby, I've came along way & I'm making progress still. Proud of it.
__________________
Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 03:07 PM   #79
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 155
Btw - guess since I just sold my motorcycle to buy all this stuff, I should change my name from speed to -- Hell idk lol. Maybe dumb ! Lol
__________________
Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 03:15 PM   #80
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 155
Ok guys (& gals). Critical moment here. Need advice. What do I do with this tank ? Lol. I'll try to make it short. 20gal with 2 smaller coldwater ( fancy & black Moore ) that I'd like to move into the 40 but dnt think that's possible & not buying anymore tanks. 40 gal has 3 neon tetra, 1 pleco, I plattie, 1 bala shark, 2 cory cats & 2 clown loach's. they're all small, biggest prolly the pleco lol being 5 ish in. I know bala needs company & more room. I also know the clowns will get about a ft in time. Can I mix the clown loach's with bala's ? I wanted to use one as semi aggressive to have more of a variety, colors, options. But I'm in a predicament. Bala has to get out of the that tank which is semi aggressive, but the loach's too & they're community. Regardless guess the goldfish are stuck in the 20g tall. 3 tanks & alot of $. I'm done after this tank is finished. Plz help on what to do or my options from here so I can finish setting up new tank.
__________________

__________________
Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.