Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-10-2013, 07:27 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bkiggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Massachusettes
Posts: 1,302
Water Changer

Finally got a 25ft water changer. How do YOU add prime?

__________________
bkiggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 07:35 PM   #2
Look It Up
 
librarygirl's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 7,053
Congrats! I love mine. After taking water out, add Prime for the whole volume of the tank not just the water you are replacing (see the bottle for dosing; I think one capful is for 55 gals and I have a 40 gal so I just use a whole cap) then refill. Easy.
__________________
Every living thing is significant.
🐠 Guide to Starting a Freshwater Aquarium
librarygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 07:45 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bkiggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Massachusettes
Posts: 1,302
That's what I did. Added prime before adding new water. Just wasn't sure. Didn't want to kill off BB because of chlorine
Soooooooooo tired of 5g buckets through the house
__________________
bkiggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 07:49 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
frank98284's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: sedro-woolley wa
Posts: 213
I love mine you did it correct enjoy
__________________
frank98284 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 08:49 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Laser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,218
I grappled with this concept of adding prime to the tank before adding the new water. It appears that the chlorine/chloramine is not damaging enough to harm the biofilter or the fish before the prime reaches equilibrium.
__________________
Laser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 09:02 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,022
I add it directly to the stream filling the tank. I only dose the amount changed and never do whole tank volume and have never had issues. I personally feel the existing tank water is already treated; so why treat it. Done it this way for years.
__________________
mohican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 06:30 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bkiggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Massachusettes
Posts: 1,302
So is prime not necessary. ??
__________________
bkiggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.