Water Changes

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

selvan777

Aquarium Advice Regular
EDIT: perhaps I should rephrase the question to "why are pwc needed?"

Hi,

First of all, I am no expert at all and am learning.

I'm wondering if pwc's are truly necessary if water tests continually remain acceptable and no activity raises the need like after using meds, etc.

Ever since I setup my tank I've been routinely having my water tested at Petsmart before and after pwc's every 4 to 5 days. The results always stay the same except for hardness and alkalinity but never at levels that raise concern (80 - 120). They use Jungle Lab's 6-in-1 and Ammonia.

For now I plan on raising the bar to every 2 weeks, but really, is it necessary?

Thanks

There are things in the water that cannot be tested for, such as fish hormones. I change the water on my heavily stocked tanks once every two weeks, and once a month on my planted tank. It sounds as though petsmart is using the test strips, of which are notoriously inaccurate, it would pay you to purchase at the minimum an ammonia, nitrite and nitrate liquid test kit. Having these kits on hand will allow you to immediately test your water if something goes wrong and the store is closed as well as give you accurate results.