Water has yellow brown tint/brown algae present

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tsdobbi

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
So I have been running this aquarium for about 2 months now. Marineland C360 about half full 75 gallon tank. Occupant is a juvenile Razorback Musk turtle.

This is a recent development but the water has "tinted to a brackish" I honestly don't care about the color, I am just trying to understand why. (Unfortunately, the photos of the tank do really show the tint for some reason. It looks normal in photos, but I assure you there is most certainly a yellowish/brownish tint.

I get the driftwood could release tannins but I've had the driftwood in there the whole time and this tinted tank (and the brown algae) is a new development (past couple weeks).

The tank is otherwise clear other than the tint. Today is my weekly water change day, so I pulled out my API test kit to test the water first. Everything seems as it should be. Ammonia, Nitrites at 0. Some presence of Nitrates.

Important to note, this seems to have cropped up after REMOVING the sand substrate I had (which I obviously did a full water change) there are still some sand remnants you can see on the bottom of the tank. I also had to clean my filter because it got mucked up with sand and was barely flowing.

I assume its the brown algae (I can see it on parts of the tank glass and on some of the fake plants) From what I understand other than looking ugly it shouldn't be harmful, but I surmise that might be what is causing the tint. I am kind of hoping it will go away, because it most certainly makes the tank "look" dirty when it really isn't.

https://imgur.com/BAhhZLz
https://imgur.com/cOACQeO
https://imgur.com/erJyfR3

How long is the light running?

The tannish color of the water could be from excess food and from the DW.

What color are the foods you are feeding?