What brand Tropical Flakes are best?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ocminpin

Aquarium Advice Addict
Have coupons for the Aqueon Tropical Fish Flakes... They have been on Tetra Tetramin Plus Tropical Flakes ....
I want the best food for them...
I have mollies and a platy..

Good Flake Food

Hello oc...

I've been using the TetraMin Crisps for several months and I think they're a very good supplement for my Livebearers and Corydoras. I say supplement, because I use several other dry and frozen foods too.

B

How are crisps different than flakes?
I was wondering how aqueon was only cause I have a $2 coupon... Is fish food like dog food? Cheap stuff like Pedigree equivalent to candy and junk food or high quality expensive stuff...

Aqueon is alright. I would say it's a medium brand. Is it only for flakes? Or could you get pellets too? Flakes break down too much and just puts so much junk in your tank. I would say go for pellets/crisps if possible.

The flakes are mostly the same composition. So, I would just pick whichever. I use the "color-enhancing" one. Haven't noticed any difference from the regular. I'm just going to use the rest of my flakes and then switch to pellets.

At the advice of forum members, I just ordered some New Life Spectrum (NLS) food. I was used to using flakes, and upon research found out that pellets help prevent issues that can exist when you use flake. Things already mentioned, like uneaten waste build up and break down, and things like digestion, bloat, the transfer of more nutrients, and etc.

I'm not expert on it, but there was enough material to convince me.

Omega one is a really good brand that's generally easy to find in your lfs. Theres also NLS(new life spectrum) which is better thant omega one, but you have to order it and it's pretty expensive.