Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-11-2013, 03:10 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 56
what causes nitrates to drop?

What would cause nitrates to drop?
My water parameters were 6.8pH, 20-40ppm nitrates, 1kh and 2gh. I noticed ph swings and with baking soda and seachem equilibrium, I got my levels steady where they should be 5kH and 6gh with 8 ph. Water needs to be somewhat hard for mollies.

I added a new light last week (2 24w t5ho) on my 20g tall. Compared to my old 15w bulb. And jeeze my tank has been taken over by brown diatoms!

Havent changed water in a week and somehow nitrates dropped? I also add flourish and flourish excel.
Could this just be that my amazon swords are finally thriving?
Its a plabted tank with two amazon swords and im adding brazilian pennywort, java fern, ludwigia, and im attempting dwarf baby tears today.
__________________

__________________
epjan7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 04:31 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mrvincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 2,246
What nitrate test are you using ? You must shake bottle #2 like if you life depends of it. Bang it on a table, shake it like **** !

If it's a 3 bottles kit, then that's the bottle #3 you need to shake like hell.
__________________

__________________
mrvincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 04:45 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 56
Api I do shake it really good
__________________
epjan7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 04:47 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mrvincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 2,246
I have API nitrates test 2, you must bang it, shake it stronger you can, else you will have a 0ppm reading, like I always had before...

I seriously don't think amazon swords drain nitrates like that with the lights you have and without CO2 injection... Did you bought the 2x

Do your plants look healty ?

Did you have very much diatoms ?

Is that light you bought ? http://www.amazon.fr/Glo-Galerie-Sus.../dp/B00E4B5GQE

I have the same on my 29g wide but 2x39W, my nitrates dropped at 0 once when I got green water...
__________________
mrvincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 12:34 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,270
Fwiw, the diatoms will probably go away on their own. They'll use up the silicates that are in the tank and dwindle away. Or you can get a snail, most snails love the stuff. Nerites especially love diatoms, eat it like candy.
__________________
Fishfur is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.