Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-29-2015, 09:19 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Daven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Saskatchewan (Canada)
Posts: 492
What do you guys use in your AquaClear110 filters?

Hey everyone! Ive researched this quite a bit but was looking to see if any of you has messed around with different filter media in the AC110 filters? I have a 75 gallon tank with two of these monsters. I run the large sponges in both, and in one i use a layer of filter floss and filled to the top with crushed coral, and in the other is just biomedia to the top.

Since i started the tank i have found the water to be cloudy, like microbubbles everywhere kind of cloudy. I know the sponges that come for these filters arent very fine, so im thinking it could be some suspended small bits that get past the media. Possibly from the food too. I was previously thinking it could be a newer tank sort of issue, but the tanks been up for around a half year i think without any sign of issues. So its not a new tank thing. Does anyone know of a way to get a finer sponge to put after the origonal sponge to work more effectively? The small amount of filter floss i put in is clogged within the week easy so it doesnt do much

__________________
Daven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2015, 10:12 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
sealife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Australia.
Posts: 739
Throw in filter floss in both to clear up water.

Add the same media in both filters.
Mechanical and bio media.



Sent from my SM-G920I using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
sealife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2015, 11:01 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Daven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Saskatchewan (Canada)
Posts: 492
I can add the filter floss to the other. But the way the crushed coral and bio media is bagged, I'm not able to split to add both. I shouldn't need the bio media anyways technically as the sponges themselves have a large amount of surface area alone. But like it for seeding quarantines


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Daven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2015, 10:09 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishobsessed7's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 1,816
You could try purigen


Fishobsessed7

Money Can't Buy Happiness, But It Can Buy Fish Which Is Pretty Much The Same Thing
__________________
Money Can't Buy Happiness, But It Can Buy Fish Which Is Pretty Much The Same Thing!


Fishobsessed7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 05:45 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Potluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,061
You can cut your sponge in half long ways, add filter floss or even the sheets you get for canister filters, and chit to size, i cut Bolles in mine so if it gets clogged the water can still get past it, or get yourself a badge of bio Chem sorb or chemi pure, only bad thing about the sheets of canister stuff is it gets clogged really fast and can back flow the filter

Sent from my SM-G920P using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Rick
Potluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 05:51 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Potluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,061
Tanks pretty clear the hazy you might notice is from the bubble stones

Sent from my SM-G920P using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1448967075881.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	118.7 KB
ID:	281442  
__________________
Rick
Potluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 05:56 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Potluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,061
Wrong pic in my other post that was the green tint from meds lol

Sent from my SM-G920P using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1448967383925.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	239.8 KB
ID:	281443  
__________________
Rick
Potluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 11:16 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ImACoolguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,954
I have a canister/aquaclear combo. The aquaclear just holds its regular sponge, a giant bag of extra media, and a bag of Purigen.

http://imgur.com/OTSKbdX


Caleb
__________________
ImACoolguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 09:13 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Daven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Saskatchewan (Canada)
Posts: 492
I just started reading up about purigen and its got me curious. But it removes nitrogenous materials, or the waste before it hits that stage anyways? Maybe when my fish grow to full size i might like a bit of extra help with nitrate management... But for now wouldnt purigen maitnence and etc sort of make for a little less stable bioload? Like, i understand the nitrogen cycle and whatnot, but it acts on having enough bacteria to keep up with the waste produces. So if the waste is lessened, there would be less BB. And maybe the idea is to never let it reach the point of getting "filled up", but if the effectiveness did suffer or the amount of time out to bleach it was long enough, wouldnt it have the possibility of not being able to keep up? Im a little cautious about using additives that have the possibility of hiding issues for limited amounts of time. Currently my BB is solid so i wouldnt want to change that. After all, id only want it to clear the water and i can live with the slight haze if there was a chance. I could very well be misunderstanding

Also, how much would be wanted for my 75 gallon tank? And what would the maintenance schedule look like?
__________________
Daven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 10:08 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Laeris's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 957
All I really count on Purigen for is making the water pretty. I keep a lot of wood in the tank for the shrimp and it releases tannins. No big deal, doesn't hurt anything but I like clear water. The container tells you exactly how much you need, if you decide to go with it.

Honestly, think of it as a reusable filter floss, past all the fancy words, that's what it does.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Laeris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 12:03 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ImACoolguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,954
I really only use the Purigen for water clarity.


Caleb
__________________
ImACoolguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 12:33 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Daven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Saskatchewan (Canada)
Posts: 492
Ok so there must not be any real side effects from people using it?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Daven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 12:36 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Laeris's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 957
Clear water? hahahaha No, it doesn't affect anything else that I've noticed.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Laeris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquac, aquaclear, clear, filter, filters

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aquaclear110 Cjsanders757 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 07-12-2013 08:29 PM
Need your help: How/What do you use to keep records about your setup -benefits you :) anthonym Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 01-30-2010 05:03 PM
OK guys when you use your gravel vac. darburks General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 05-16-2006 11:44 AM
what kind of diffuser do you guys use for your tank? krap101 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 16 02-21-2006 10:12 AM
What do you guys use on the end of your return hose. copester Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 12-23-2002 08:24 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.