What else can go in my 10 gal?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fishmonger

Aquarium Advice Regular
I'm rather new to having fish. I recently bought a 10gal to start me off. I was wondering what else I can put in my tank.

I have:
2 giant danios
3 tiger barbs
2 red claw crabs

What else can go with this setup if anything?

Welcome to Aquarium Advice!

At this point, I would say that the stock you habe in your tank is sufficient. The crabs really hinder you from getting any other bottom dweller, as they will most likely become food.

If anything, maybe a single small top dwelling fish like a dwarf gourami, but even that is pushing it.

Thanks!...I was thinking of getting a dwarf gourami, but they looked kind of big at the fish store. I was thinking of maybe some bigger tetras.

The problem with tetras is that they are a schooling fish and are best kept in schools of at least 6 or more, and they are mid-dwelling species which you already have.

Welcome fishmonger! I agree. Your 10 gal is pretty well stocked for now. If this is a new set up, be sure to watch the water qualty closely as things can go downhill quickly in small aquariums. Especially during the first few weeks while the tank is cycling.

fishmonger said:
How about another couple of barbs?

I would say one more should be fine, but as savga said, keep a close eye on the parameters of the water. Also, make sure you keep up with tank maintenance on a weekly basis.

I don't think you have room for anything else with those danios and barbs in there. If anything, once they are fully grown you will be overstocked.

ok thanks...1 more thing..My female danio chases the male danio constantly. Is this normal and will it ever stop?