What fish could I get for my five gallon

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

What fish would be able to live in my 5 gallon tank

• Colbalt goby

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Panda goby

• Glass catfish

• Upside down catfish

• Killifish

• Pea puffer (I am a beginner fish keeper)

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Bagles

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Loaches in a 5 gallon

Kuhili and hillsteam loaches
Hello, I have a 5 gallon aquarium and I was wondering if I could keep a hillstream or a kuhili loach in it. It has filtering and I let it cycle for 2 months now. I don't really know about the kuhili loach, as most websites say it requires 10 gallons, but would it be okay to have it in a 5 gallon for a year or two than move it into a 10 or 20 gallon aquarium? On another note, I am currently keeping 1 female betta and 2 African dwarf frogs. Thanks and I hope you reply soon.

Last edited:
Ok

Thanks for your advice, but would it be okay to keep some other type of fish such as a stingray pleco?

Are the betta and frogs in tbis tank? If they are you're already stocked.

Sent from my SM-G930T using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Cycling

I have them in there for cycling and I plan to move them eventually, but that's is algae building up. Could I go with a ghost shrimp or a colbalt goby

Thanks for your advice, but would it be okay to keep some other type of fish such as a stingray pleco?
Wide body fish have much higher biolad. I may go tight but not that tight.

There is no pleco that works in a five. I use shrimp for the same role in my Betta tank.

In my Betta Tank I have:
1 Dumbo Half moon Male
3 Endler
2 Ammano Shrimp
14+ blue dream red cherry shrimp
2 nerite snails

Not all Betta do well with others, very similar to Cichlid in that way.

A 5gal tank is small. Like, really small. Loaches need room to swim and like to be in groups. 5 minimum is best.