Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-29-2003, 10:23 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 1,257
What is the ideal setup for a quarentine tank?

Yeah, I'm back and I'm postin crazy again :P


Anyhow, I need to invest in a QT tank. I've been holding off until after we move in January, but I got some Christmas moola and I probably ought to spend it before it goes to bills.

I was thinking of getting a little Eclipse, but... If you put a sick fish in there isn't the bio-wheel essentially tainted? And then the tank needs to be cycled all over again? I guess I just need to know what is the ideal size considering you may have more than one fish in there and you may have larger fish. That's not a concern now, but who knows when a mess of discus or an big ol' eel shows up. What's the easiest to tear down and set back up?
__________________

__________________
Holly ~

I love the fishes cause they're so delicious.
Sati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2003, 10:29 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
TankGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 8,974
Avoid the Eclipse setup. Look in your local paper, or your local Bargain Trader for a used 20-gal long, if you want something that will house most any fish you need to medicate or quarrantine. You can still go with bare bottom and a sponge filter, or if the deals in your paper are like mine, you can get a complete 20-gal setup for about $25. Don't worry about biowheels for this kind of thing.
__________________

TankGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2003, 10:54 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Enki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pattaya, Thailand
Posts: 418
Put the word out that you are willing to adopt old aquarium equipment, I already have a 10 and a 20 on the way. The 20 will be a grow out tank eventually and the 10 a QT.

You can keep a HOB or sponge filter 'alive' by running it as extra filtration on another, bigger tank and just put it on the QT tank when needed.
__________________
Enki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2003, 11:16 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 402
I understand that QT tanks are simple, bare-bones hospitals. You don't really need substrate (unless I guess you have fish that like to burrow), a sponge filter is adequate, a hiding place and a heater.
__________________
28 gallon bowfront:
2 platys
PlatyLady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2003, 11:31 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 1,257
So you do need to change the filter after every treatment in the QT tank? I have my 5 dwarf puffers in my 10g and they don't need more room but I think I would rather have another larger thank than get another 10g.
__________________
Holly ~

I love the fishes cause they're so delicious.
Sati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2003, 12:08 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Enki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pattaya, Thailand
Posts: 418
If I did not get the 10 gallon donated to me, I would probably just use a rubbermaid bin for the QT. I have a powerhead for circulation and I plan on putting a sponge on it soon for just that purpose. I have a chunk of marble that is smooth on one side to stick the heater to, toss in the sponge and I'm ready to go.

I would probably not break down and disinfect the filter if all the QT fish were healthy at the end of QT, but I might. If I had to do ANY treatment, I definitely would.
__________________
Enki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2003, 11:26 AM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
TankGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 8,974
At the end of treatment, I definitely break the tank down and keep it empty, completely disinfecting the filter and putting it back in one of the big tanks to get re-seeded for future use. The Q-tank stays empty until next time (if I keep it running, it turns into a regular show tank, then I have to get ANOTHER tank... that's one of the ways I got my handle.. )
TankGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2003, 11:49 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,444
I just make sure to have extra sponges or filter floss in my regular tank HOB filters. Then it can be added to another tank if needed in a cheap walmart filter. Heater is essential as it is often used in many treatments. There are also many meds out there that will kill off the good bacteria so you won't need to use establish filter media anyway. You can always do daily water changes as well (which many meds recommend anyway).
__________________
tkos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2003, 12:35 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 1,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by TankGirl
(if I keep it running, it turns into a regular show tank, then I have to get ANOTHER tank... that's one of the ways I got my handle.. )
I can completely see that happening! I had planned on keeping a couple fish in it to keep it going but I think I'd best just keep some extra filter media curing, lol. Thanks all! :]
__________________
Holly ~

I love the fishes cause they're so delicious.
Sati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2004, 02:36 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 641
Send a message via Yahoo to Pufferpunk
http://www.aaquaria.com/aquasource/isolation.shtml
__________________
The Puffer Forum
https://www.thepufferforum.org/

Pufferpunk's Tanks
https://wetwebfotos.com/Home?actionRe...ew&userID=1918
Pufferpunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2004, 09:29 AM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
TankGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 8,974
Nice link, Pufferpunk!
__________________

TankGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
setup, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ideal setup for a Betta? happygirl65 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 05-11-2009 02:40 PM
ideal ACF setup Phoenixphire55 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 07-27-2008 10:18 PM
Quarentine tank wentzville Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 09-21-2006 02:25 PM
Ideal setup for a 20g MiamiE Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 09-10-2006 02:36 PM
ideal setup for beginner (fish and equipment wise) philc21 Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 10 11-11-2003 11:05 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.