Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-11-2013, 12:40 AM   #41
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
severum mama's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 10,297
Quote:
Originally Posted by molliwopp View Post
Yeah. Stick a root tab down there and youre good to go.
Root tabs are not necessary for Java fern; in fact, their roots do not even need to be placed into the substrate at all. This is one of the easiest plants to keep in the aquarium IME.
__________________

severum mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 08:21 AM   #42
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
SpellEcho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwh0818 View Post

Yes. Are you still cycling your tank? Do you have fish?
I do have fish but in my other tank, I have nothing in my 10 gal. It's going to be just for my fry
__________________

__________________
SpellEcho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 06:54 PM   #43
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
molliwopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Uk, England.
Posts: 2,110
Quote:
Originally Posted by severum mama View Post

Root tabs are not necessary for Java fern; in fact, their roots do not even need to be placed into the substrate at all. This is one of the easiest plants to keep in the aquarium IME.
Yep youre right theyre almost too easy. A root tab cant do any harm though might give it a lighter fresher green look.
__________________
Fish die belly upward and rise to the surface. It's their way of falling.


[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
molliwopp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 07:51 PM   #44
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
SpellEcho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario
Posts: 130
How often should I vacuum the substrate, I've had my tank for about two months and I've probably vacuumed it twice, I was told it's good to keep the waste and not vacuum all of the crap up at once but I don't know how true that is.
__________________
SpellEcho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 07:54 PM   #45
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
SpellEcho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario
Posts: 130
Update: This is what my 10 Gallon currently looks like

Plants are in there just to help cycle, not worried if they die or how stupid they look haha
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130911_195414.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	62.4 KB
ID:	197737  
__________________
SpellEcho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 09:00 PM   #46
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
molliwopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Uk, England.
Posts: 2,110
Looks kool, ill be attempting the flower pot air stone trick but with a piece of slate or rock.
__________________
Fish die belly upward and rise to the surface. It's their way of falling.


[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
molliwopp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 09:23 PM   #47
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
SpellEcho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by molliwopp View Post
Looks kool, ill be attempting the flower pot air stone trick but with a piece of slate or rock.
Yes it was quite easy, the pot already had a hole in it haha, just used a pair of scissors to make it big enough for the tube to fit in it then I stuck the air stone on the other end :P
__________________
SpellEcho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 09:51 PM   #48
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Fishlover3578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 841
I did play Sand from Home Depot I rinsed several times and it took 4 hours to fully settle it seems to work well
__________________
Fishlover3578 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 09:54 PM   #49
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Grish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Eagar, AZ
Posts: 102
I used 100 lbs. of silica sand for my 125 gallon aquarium. It only took me about 45 minutes to get it cleaned.
__________________
Grish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 10:04 PM   #50
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
SpellEcho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario
Posts: 130
Yeah it took me about an hour to clean the pool filter sand, I never had cloudiness or anything though which is good
__________________

__________________
SpellEcho is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.