What made you chose Freshwater over Saltwater?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

( 8 ) eiGhtBaLL

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
G'day.

I'm a 17yr old student from Sydney, Australia, and I'm making a television aquarium for my final year major project in Design and Technology.

'Making the aquarium itself is fine and dandy, but what about the water?' I thought...

What are the pro's and con's of Freshwater over Saltwater?

I thank you for your time and effort in advance ....

- Jeremy. :)

I personally went with freshwater back in 1997 when i started with fish because of a few reasons.

First i had heard saltwater was really hard expecially for a beginner. I now know that to be somewhat a false statment.

Second I had seen saltwater fish in the stores and they where usually starting out at $8 a fish and of course worked their way up from there relitivly quickly. Thus freshwater fish where more economical of a choice.

As I advanced in my knowlege and felt more comfortable with fish keeping I made the transistion.

i started with brackish, did some fresh and just started my salt water. so i guess to answer your question, i didn't.

Well I started with FW becuse I have always licked FW, but I am starting an SW tank in the coming months.

For me it was primarily a cost issue, and some was the perceived learning curve. FW fish are so much cheaper, I think the investment in SW is out of my range right now.