What Made You Want A Freshwater Aquarium?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I've always loved fish and one day my mom was getting an aquarium for a beta she got from a work friend. It got me into taking care of fish of my own and now I have a ton of fish and take care of 3 separate aquariums

I was always interested in the Ocean. My 1st favorite movie as a kid was The Little Mermaid. After the first time seeing Free Willy I fell totally head over heels in love with Orca whales.
(I studied them every second that I got and even entered college in a marine biology major until I realized that there were only 3 Sea Worlds in the entire US and job opportunities were not really there.)
My mom had a 75 gal growing up but sadly I was too young to remember too much of that. Around 18 I asked for my own tank for Christmas. I was enchanted by the idea of having sharks in my own home. I got a 10 gal for Christmas and picked Bala sharks to go in it. (not knowing a thing about Balas, or any fish other than Orcas at this time. Yes, I know they are mammals but you know what I mean. haha.)

Shortly after I moved for college and read that Balas are recommeded 55 gal / Bala! That was fine with me as there is no tank too big for my taste haha but I was outraged that I have been keeping this guy in a 10 gal. I also found out that they are schooling fish, recommended to be kept in groups no smaller than 7 and I had only 1!!!
I ran right out and got a 55 gal. I was so proud of that tank but I could not keep fish alive to save my life. I did not know in those days about cycling and honestly as any 18 year old kid with a dream toy, I was far to anxious to wait and paid the price for it.