What rocks can I use?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Trioracles

Aquarium Advice Activist
I have some semi precious stones that I want to put in my goldfish tank. Are these ok or will they be harmful?

Girasol opals
Aquamarine
Apatite
Carnelian
Blue Sodalite
Blue Apatite

Why not diamonds? I'm not a mineral expert to tell you if all of those are inert but I'd bet you could find out with a library book easily enough. When I selected some rocks, I used vinegar to determine if they had any minerals that would dissolve in the presence of acid (since fish generate a bit) and any stone that bubbled wasn't used. We have loads of limestone around here. But I don't think I'd do that to anything semiprecious.

Stones in Freshwater

I have some semi precious stones that I want to put in my goldfish tank. Are these ok or will they be harmful?

Girasol opals
Aquamarine
Apatite
Carnelian
Blue Sodalite
Blue Apatite

Hello Tri...

You can use the vinegar test on the stones. Just put a few drops on the stone and if there's a reaction, then don't use it. If there's none, then rinse the piece well and put it into the tank.

Pretty simple.

B

If you put them in vinegar and they fizz then they cannot be used in an aquarium. HOWEVER, there are rocks that won't fizz and cannot be used in an aquarium too. Most Quartz are fine, but Amethyst for example (won't fizz) but CAN (not always) put iron in your water.

Not sure about your opal, but it is a form of quartz so it may be fine.

Apatite may raise your phosphates, you'll need to keep an eye on it.

I believe your aquamarine, carnelian, and sodalite will be fine.