What should be the tap water's ammonia level?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tlan

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi there, I'm a newbie as you can tell. I set up my aquarium a few days ago, and I'd like to add some fish NOW! :D but the level of ammonia is @ 1.0 ppm. Isn't it should zero, since I dont have any fish yet? what should I do... wait or just put one fish?

You need to cycle the tank first. 1ppm is not good for fish. If you put in fish, it will only go up. Read through the stickies, it will give you a good idea on how to do a fishless cycle.

Your tap water probably has Ammonia in it. Because of this you will need to make sure to pick up some Water Dechlorinator that detoxifies Ammonia. Prime and AmQuel are a couple that do.

The other possibility is that your test kit is bad. You can take a water sample to your LFS and ask them to test it for you, preferably with a different brand kit that you are using.

I was thinking to detoxify the ammonia, but I read that after you add the detoxifier the test kit will show ammonia even after you cycled and there is no ammonia present... is that true?

You probably have Chloramines in your tap. Put water in a cup and add dechlorinator that removes chloramines (such as Prime), stir it and test after about 10 minutes. If you get a 0 Ammonia reading, it means your have chloramines in your tap. You may have ammonia in your tap also, but I'd double check to make sure. Prime is an excellent product that lasts a long time since it is concentrated.