Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-09-2005, 04:51 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Keller Va
Posts: 90
what should i do

ok in about a week or so i ws guuna empty out my tank and clean it all out anb maybe change the substrate and put it on a new stand. what steps shold i take and how should i do them?

oh and i was going to change my substrate to sand and i was thinking i was guna keep some of my water in order to keep the bacteria and whatnot
__________________

__________________
1667-Bubonic Plague-Never Forget
LestWeForget13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 05:05 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,995
Make sure you keep your filter wet. Put it in a bucket with aquariumwater, not tapwater.
Where are you going to keep your fish? I would suggest you put them in buckets as well with tank water, or any onther container that is large enough. Run a heater in this container if you'll be working for a long time.
Once you removed your fish and filter, take out all decorations and plants (put the plants in water as well).
Remove your gravel and throw it away, or clean it and put it back in.
Clean your tank with hot water.
Add gravel
Add decorations+plants
Add Filter
Add Fish!

HTH
__________________

__________________
Billsgate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 05:11 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Keller Va
Posts: 90
i was going to put my fish in a 10 gallon temporary tank whilst i work on the main one


and i ws going to use playsand or pool filter sand(?) for the substrate. is there any special process that needs to go through or is it okay just by itself
__________________
1667-Bubonic Plague-Never Forget
LestWeForget13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 07:34 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Corona Ca.
Posts: 515
A rubbermaid tub works well for doing change overs. Partially fill with used tank water. Install filter, heater and any plants and decorations. Save some of the old gravel in a 1 gal container or sox and put in tub. Clean the tank and replace on leveled stand. Partially fill with warmed water and add declor. Install filter and heater. Set the bucket of gravel in the tank along with plants and decorations. Add used water from the tub. Top off with declored water as necessary. Allow to run for 24 hrs. Check water chemistry. If all looks good, add fish.
I followed this procedure while changing over to a 125 from a 55. I basically had no cycle. Good Luck.
__________________
Doran Hayes
BASSNMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 07:37 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Keller Va
Posts: 90
thank you both but i ws going to change my substrate to sand, is there any special process needed?
__________________
1667-Bubonic Plague-Never Forget
LestWeForget13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 08:49 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
Just make sure you wash your sand thoroughly before adding it to your tank and you should be fine.
__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 09:57 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
TankGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 8,974
What I do (I love pool filter sand, btw, has a coarser grain than playsand and does not tend to fly around the tank and get into your filter motor) is put the sand in a bucket and fill it with the water hose, and stir it with my hand as it overflows. The sand will be cloudy and I don't think you will ever rinse it enough to rid it completely of cloudiness, but it helps. Once you have it in your tank it may take a few hours or as long as a day to clear up.

If you are tearing everything down and cleaning everything you will almost definitely experience at least a partial cycle.
TankGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 10:05 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Keller Va
Posts: 90
so with what all of you are saying, will i have my fish out of the original tank for more than a day? and if so will they all survive in a ten gallon tank with original filter and heatert?
__________________
1667-Bubonic Plague-Never Forget
LestWeForget13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 09:48 AM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
TankGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 8,974
I don't think the fish will need to be out of the tank for more than a day if you are prepared beforehand, and have help moving the tank onto the new stand, etc.

Depending on how many fish, how large they are and how aggressive they are, they should be able to hang out in a 10-gal for a while, and keeping your original filter running is a great idea.
__________________

TankGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.