Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-23-2012, 11:04 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ashleynicole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,787
Which Canister Filter for 55 Gallon, Looking at Fluval Models

Alright so I am looking at canister filters for my 55 gallon and I am most interested in the fluval since they are made by hagan and aquaclear is my favorite HOB filter. I just don't know which model to buy for my 55 gallon planted tank. I usually like to over filter my tanks so I was looking at the fluval 406:
http://www.amazon.com/Hagen-A217-Flu...7824455&sr=1-3
and the fluval 306
http://www.amazon.com/Hagen-A212-Flu...7824455&sr=1-6
and the fluval 305
http://www.amazon.com/Fluval-305-Ext...7825151&sr=8-9


And then I saw this one, an aquatop CF300 and it seems to be cheaper and still have good reviews, but I don't mind spending extra money if it is worth it in the long run

http://www.amazon.com/Aquatop-CF300-...825385&sr=8-46

But I don't know the differences between the models so would like to get some input on those that have canister filters. I have a pretty high bioload and am currently running two aquaclear 50's which do a pretty good job, but it is a pain to take them off and clean them and I like the idea of a canister so I can hide the equipment under the tank stand and push it closer to the wall. I've never had canister filter before sooo... any information and suggestions are welcome. TIA
__________________

__________________
ashleynicole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 12:34 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 665
I have a fluvial 406 on my 55g its the newest model. I think it does a great job. Its rated for 100g.
__________________

__________________
awilson133 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 10:15 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ashleynicole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,787
Quote:
Originally Posted by awilson133
I have a fluvial 406 on my 55g its the newest model. I think it does a great job. Its rated for 100g.
Thanks. That's what I was looking at but it is the most expensive so I wondering if the price was worth it if a 306 would be sufficient because a 306 is rated for up to 70 gallons.

Do you use a powerhead or anything in addition to help with water flow or is it sufficient? What I like about the two AC 50'S is that I have flow on both sides of my tank. I have aircurtains too but I don't leave them on. I just turn them on sometimes for aesthetics and because the cories and oto's like to play in the bubbles
__________________
ashleynicole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 12:56 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 665
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashleynicole

Thanks. That's what I was looking at but it is the most expensive so I wondering if the price was worth it if a 306 would be sufficient because a 306 is rated for up to 70 gallons.

Do you use a powerhead or anything in addition to help with water flow or is it sufficient? What I like about the two AC 50'S is that I have flow on both sides of my tank. I have aircurtains too but I don't leave them on. I just turn them on sometimes for aesthetics and because the cories and oto's like to play in the bubbles
I don't have a power head because I have penguin 350 on my 55 as well. I'd.say its very worth it. The 406 are more effecent and updated. Have you check online for a better price for the 406
__________________
awilson133 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 01:06 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: aprox 30 minutes from The Wet Spot :)
Posts: 287
Ashley,

I was looking at a 306 as well but found that the Fluval 405 model was the same price or a little lower on Amazon.

It runs 129.99 and free shipping from a couple of the ones listed and if you get a bigger tank it'll handle that too.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------

Your tank cannot be complete without a pleco. It's IMPOSSIBLE.
Scott F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 03:34 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
maxwellag's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 5,287
Quote:
Originally Posted by awilson133 View Post
I have a fluvial 406 on my 55g its the newest model. I think it does a great job. Its rated for 100g.
IMO it is over rated. A filter should turn over the tank volume at least 5 times per hour. It is fine on your 55, though.
maxwellag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 03:35 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
maxwellag's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 5,287
I would get the 406. The more filtration, the better! I have a 206 on my 20g tank and it is perfect.
maxwellag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 04:32 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ashleynicole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,787
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott F
Ashley,

I was looking at a 306 as well but found that the Fluval 405 model was the same price or a little lower on Amazon.

It runs 129.99 and free shipping from a couple of the ones listed and if you get a bigger tank it'll handle that too.
Good point, yeah I do have amazon prime, there is no way I am paying retail store filter prices.
__________________
ashleynicole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 04:33 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ashleynicole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,787
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxwellag

IMO it is over rated. A filter should turn over the tank volume at least 5 times per hour. It is fine on your 55, though.
I read somewhere it should turn over 8 times the volume, so a 55 should have a filter rated for at least 440 gph, but that does seem excessive . 5 times the volume sounds more reasonable. At 5 times that would be 270gph
__________________
ashleynicole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 05:01 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: aprox 30 minutes from The Wet Spot :)
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashleynicole View Post
Good point, yeah I do have amazon prime, there is no way I am paying retail store filter prices.
That price on the 405 was without amazon prime. I thought about signing up but decided not to.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------

Your tank cannot be complete without a pleco. It's IMPOSSIBLE.
Scott F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 05:14 PM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,067
I have the 406 on my 75g and I love it. I got it in on amazon (love prime!) and paid the extra $4 for overnight shipping since I wanted it fast.

The only complaint I have, which isn't a big deal, is they give you ribbed hosing. It makes connecting an inline heater impossible. I had to swap out all the hoses in order to get my inline heater working.

It is quiet and very reliable. We've had a couple power outages and it stays primed and comes right back on. Well worth the money.
__________________
meegosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 05:39 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ashleynicole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,787
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott F

That price on the 405 was without amazon prime. I thought about signing up but decided not to.
OMG amazon prime is totally worth it! And if you don't use it in a year you can get a refund but I've had it for a year and I use it constantly. I can scan an item in a store and if its cheaper on amazon and its a prime item, I get it with free 2 day shipping. Awesomeness.
__________________
ashleynicole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 05:40 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ashleynicole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,787
Quote:
Originally Posted by meegosh
I have the 406 on my 75g and I love it. I got it in on amazon (love prime!) and paid the extra $4 for overnight shipping since I wanted it fast.

The only complaint I have, which isn't a big deal, is they give you ribbed hosing. It makes connecting an inline heater impossible. I had to swap out all the hoses in order to get my inline heater working.

It is quiet and very reliable. We've had a couple power outages and it stays primed and comes right back on. Well worth the money.
Thanks, looks like I'm going with the 406 how do you get replacement hoses? Or did you use hoses you already have? I don't know how to setup an inline heater but its one of the reasons I wanted a canister so I could hide equipment more efficiently.
__________________
ashleynicole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 05:44 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: aprox 30 minutes from The Wet Spot :)
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashleynicole View Post
OMG amazon prime is totally worth it! And if you don't use it in a year you can get a refund but I've had it for a year and I use it constantly. I can scan an item in a store and if its cheaper on amazon and its a prime item, I get it with free 2 day shipping. Awesomeness.
Hmm...then that doesn't sound too bad. I'll look into that!
__________________
---------------------------------------------------

Your tank cannot be complete without a pleco. It's IMPOSSIBLE.
Scott F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 05:49 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
maxwellag's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 5,287
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashleynicole View Post
Thanks, looks like I'm going with the 406 how do you get replacement hoses? Or did you use hoses you already have? I don't know how to setup an inline heater but its one of the reasons I wanted a canister so I could hide equipment more efficiently.
You can just go to a hardware store and get whatever diameter hose you need.
maxwellag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 05:50 PM   #16
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,067
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashleynicole View Post
Thanks, looks like I'm going with the 406 how do you get replacement hoses? Or did you use hoses you already have? I don't know how to setup an inline heater but its one of the reasons I wanted a canister so I could hide equipment more efficiently.
I am running a Hydor 300watt inline on my 75g. I swapped out the return side with 5/8" vinyl hoses and used some hose clamps just to be safe. It has been running for a couple months now with no issues. Keeps the temps stable in the tank which is located in my basement (temps fluctuate a lot).

I had to get a new output (5/8") since the provided output nozzle wouldn't fit the new hoses. It was only a couple bucks at my LFS so it wasn't a deal breaker. I only used the hose clamps on the canister end, the Hydor is made for 5/8" (at least that model is).
__________________
meegosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 06:00 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ashleynicole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,787
Thanks for the info I really appreciate it
__________________

__________________
ashleynicole is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
5 gallon, 55 gallon, canister, canister filter, filter, fluval, gallon, ich, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.