Which fish?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

elmonty

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm just getting started. I have a 29 gallon freshwater tank. I'd like some medium-sized fish and possibly a small school of small-to-medium fish.

I'm considering a pair of kribensis, but I don't know what to put with them. I realize that saltwater fish are much more colorful, but I'd like to get some colorful freshwater fish. I'm considering tiger barbs and upside down catfish. Perhaps the catfish and kribs, both being bottom dwellers, won't be good together?

Any suggestions?

A school of barbs would be good, make sure to get 5 at least so they keep thier aggresion to themsleves.

You might wish to stay away from other bottom dwellersas the kribs can get tough during breeding.

Zebra Danios are nice in a school as well.

Just so you know, upside down catfish are nocturnal and like to hide when the tank lights are on so you might not see them much. I know that's how it is with mine. Every morning when I turn the tank lights on, he darts to hide amidst the plants, rocks, and wood.

WELCOME Elmonty!!!
Perhaps the catfish and kribs, both being bottom dwellers, won't be good together?
Don't do it :evil: !!! My fiancé lost all his cories and kribs to :censor: upsidedown catfish.