Who ate my Chinese Algae Eater?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

margelef

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm new to the aquarium thing...just started my tank a couple months ago.

I started a 20 gallon (long) tank with 3 zebra danios and a red wag platy.

After about a month, I added 2 small catfish (corydoras?) and an angelfish. Followed shortly thereafter with a small 1.5 inch rainbow shark.

Just last week I bought two chinese algae eaters to take care of a red algae outbreak in my tank.

When I got home yesterday, I noticed what looked like a spine sitting on the bottom of my tank. After taking a headcount, I determined that it was the remains of one of the algae eaters!

My obvious conclusion is that the rainbow shark killed and ate the algae eater, but after doing some reading online, most documentation says that these sharks will pick on other fish, but doesn't say that they will kill / eat them.

Is the rainbow shark the most likely suspect? Should I worry about my other fish? None of the others have been killed of prior to the algae eater.

Thanks for any pointers

yes ... The "shark" would be the one to kill it and eat part of it. Your angelfish and your platy would be the other possibilities to have taken a nibble or even the corydoras.

Im having a similar problem with my Rainbow shark too. I really wished i hadnt brought it to be truthful even though its a great fish.

I lost a cory first and thought it may of been my betta so i moved the betta into my smaller tank , then i noticed a white cloud had gone awol then yesterday i found 1 of my pearl danio dead with wounds on his body. I read that moving decor around may help the shark reestablish a territory so try that and make sure the shark got plenty hiding places too.

Keep us informed im interested to see how u get on.