Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-13-2013, 06:54 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Catfish Lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 287
Will my tank be instantly cycled?

I already have an established planted 55g running 2 c4 fluval filters rated for 70g. It houses 6 black mollies, 9 albino Cory cats, 10 bloodfin tetras and 9 cherry barbs. I plan on starting another planted 55 that I plan on putting 15-20 serpae tetras 8 peppered corys and 1 bristletoe nose pleco. My plan is to transfer 1 of the filters from the established tank to the new one and a couple of the plants. Will the filter have enough beneficial bacteria to give me an instant cycle where I can put all the new fish in at once? Or should I still stock slowly? The filter has filter pad/ polyfiber/ and biological media inside.
__________________

__________________
Catfish Lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 07:13 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
SpellEcho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario
Posts: 130
I did the same thing when I got my 10gal but I only put half of the sponge and half of the bio balls into the new filter, and it's pretty close to being 100% cycled, so I'd say it would be pretty close if not all the way cycled, but I wouldn't rush it.
__________________

__________________
SpellEcho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 07:19 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Catfish Lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpellEcho View Post
I did the same thing when I got my 10gal but I only put half of the sponge and half of the bio balls into the new filter, and it's pretty close to being 100% cycled, so I'd say it would be pretty close if not all the way cycled, but I wouldn't rush it.
So maybe half the fish load, then the rest weekly until I get my stock where I want?
__________________
Catfish Lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 07:25 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
SpellEcho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Catfish Lover View Post

So maybe half the fish load, then the rest weekly until I get my stock where I want?
I would do the change over leave it for 24h test the water and see what your parameters are. If their high I'd do a 50% PWC and wait another 24h to test again. If everything looks good then you can add your fish right away.
__________________
SpellEcho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 07:29 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
SpellEcho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario
Posts: 130
I also took half the water from my other tank to put in my 10gal to help it along.
__________________
SpellEcho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 07:29 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Catfish Lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpellEcho View Post
I would do the change over leave it for 24h test the water and see what your parameters are. If their high I'd do a 50% PWC and wait another 24h to test again. If everything looks good then you can add your fish right away.
You mean just switch over the filter with no fish, test the water and if its ok add the all the fish?
__________________
Catfish Lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 07:32 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
SpellEcho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Catfish Lover View Post

You mean just switch over the filter with no fish, test the water and if its ok add the all the fish?
Yeah so a fish less cycle
__________________
SpellEcho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 07:32 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
SpellEcho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario
Posts: 130
Cause If the ammonia, nitrates, and nitrites are high you don't want to kill your fish
__________________
SpellEcho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 07:41 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Catfish Lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 287
You do know their is no beneficial bacteria in the water. Their was no point In switching half the water. Maybe I'll let someone else chime in with advice also.
__________________
Catfish Lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 07:44 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
SpellEcho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Catfish Lover View Post
You do know their is no beneficial bacteria in the water. Their was no point In switching half the water. Maybe I'll let someone else chime in with advice also.
I am aware of that, and the point is that the water is already cycled no ammonia, no nitrites or nitrates.
__________________
SpellEcho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 07:46 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Catfish Lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 287
Why couldn't I just fill up the new tank with new water, their wont be ammonia, nitrates or nitrites in it either
__________________
Catfish Lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 07:55 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
SpellEcho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Catfish Lover View Post
Why couldn't I just fill up the new tank with new water, their wont be ammonia, nitrates or nitrites in it either
Yup, should be good. Just add the right chemicals to your water.
__________________
SpellEcho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 09:49 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
H2OJO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hampshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 77
I think its wise to wait approx 24 hours to let the water filter through if you are using brand new water.

I wouldnt fill all of it up with brand new water as you could shock the fish. Remember thats the equivalent of doing a 100% water change
__________________
H2OJO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 10:20 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Catfish Lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by H2OJO View Post
I think its wise to wait approx 24 hours to let the water filter through if you are using brand new water.

I wouldnt fill all of it up with brand new water as you could shock the fish. Remember thats the equivalent of doing a 100% water change
Ok, I'll let the transferred filter run through for 24hrs, but that doesn't completely answer my question. Will the transferred filter give me an instant cycle?
__________________
Catfish Lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 11:26 AM   #15
jlk
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: philadelphia suburbs
Posts: 11,119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Catfish Lover View Post
Ok, I'll let the transferred filter run through for 24hrs, but that doesn't completely answer my question. Will the transferred filter give me an instant cycle?
Its all relative. Say you have a cycled, overstocked 75g cichlid tank. You move a piece of media from this tank to an uncycled 5g betta tank. Yes, this would be instantly cycled. But if you reverse this and move a piece of a media from a cycled 5g betta tank to an uncycled 75g cichlid, the media will not help as the bioload of the betta tank media is not sufficient to support the bioload of a cichlid tank.

So, in your case, your moving half the media from an established tank to an uncycled tank. Its probable that this media can support half of the bioload of the cycled tank. I would start stocking the new tank very slowly and gradually increase the stock as parameters permit. Keep an eye on your cycled tank for spikes when you remove the media, too. Just use common sense and let your numbers tell you when its safe to increase the stock.
__________________
jlk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 12:50 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Fett999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ipswich
Posts: 107
As jlk said, keep an eye on the cycled tank. You will end up with a mini cycle as the bb tries to catch up, and the filter you transfer over will only be cycled for half the bio load of the original tank. Also, if you leave the tank 24 hours without fish, which I would probably recommend if you're using all new water, then the bb in the cycled filter will start to die off with no ammonia source to feed on, so you will not have enough to cover a full half of the bio load that the original tank has.
Just add gradually and test regularly.
__________________
Fett999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 01:21 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Jack sort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Southern California
Posts: 55
I moved from a 10 gal to 30 gal and had great success. All I did was move the filter, water and one of the decorations to the new tank and ran 2 filters for about a month. I tested the water daily and did around a 10% water change every 3 days. Even though the cycled filter was for a much smaller tank I never had any problems with my water chemistry.
__________________
Jack sort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 01:51 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Fett999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ipswich
Posts: 107
That would work without a problem because you're transferring everything across and have the same bio load on the filter from 1 tank to another. The difference here is that instead of transferring everything across from 1 tank to another the filter is being split between 2 separate tanks, one of which has the same bio load as when both filters were running together and another, which will have its own bio load needs.
It's no different to having a house full of people who have just enough for them all, and then taking half that food to another full house of people. Instead of one well fed house full you have 2 half fed houses.
__________________
Fett999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 02:49 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
tarpon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 2,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpellEcho View Post

I would do the change over leave it for 24h test the water and see what your parameters are. If their high I'd do a 50% PWC and wait another 24h to test again. If everything looks good then you can add your fish right away.
if there are no fish as an ammonia source, then the parameters will all read 0, thus making it pointless to wait, testing water with no fish in it.
__________________
tarpon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 02:50 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
tarpon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 2,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpellEcho View Post

I am aware of that, and the point is that the water is already cycled no ammonia, no nitrites or nitrates.
cycled tank water does have NITRATES. youre better off leaving it out all together
__________________

__________________
tarpon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, cycled, led, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.