Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-01-2011, 06:21 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
tmdavies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: wales
Posts: 573
wood

can i jus put any old wood in the tank or does it have to have been in the sea
__________________

__________________
Mo Fish Mo problems
tmdavies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 06:27 PM   #2
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: So Cal
Posts: 675
You want wood that's been untreated with any chemicals. A dense wood that will sink over time. Soak it for a few weeks in a bucket to Leach out any tanins. You might want to do a light bleach water scrub to remove any bacteria. Just make sure you rinse thoroughly to remove any bleach before introducing it into your tank.
__________________

__________________
pantherspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 06:31 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
tmdavies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: wales
Posts: 573
so it doesnt have to be driftwood if i see i nice peice of wood that will sink i could in theory put it in there after sterilizing it?
__________________
Mo Fish Mo problems
tmdavies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 06:31 PM   #4
member

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 42.2411N/88.3161W
Posts: 6,932
You also certainly don't want to use any soft woods that will rot and decompose.
__________________
HUKIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 06:35 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
tmdavies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: wales
Posts: 573
why doesnt drift wood decompose or does it just take ages too
__________________
Mo Fish Mo problems
tmdavies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 06:38 PM   #6
member

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 42.2411N/88.3161W
Posts: 6,932
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmdavies View Post
why doesnt drift wood decompose or does it just take ages too
The hardwoods take take ages to break down.
__________________
HUKIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 06:39 PM   #7
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: So Cal
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmdavies
why doesnt drift wood decompose or does it just take ages too
It does eventually just takes longer
__________________

__________________
pantherspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
wood

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
too much wood? @rtemis Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 03-20-2008 03:40 PM
Wood midol DIY Projects 7 06-27-2005 11:52 AM
Is all wood the same or what? SpaceButler Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 02-14-2005 11:40 PM
Wood WarOrks15 DIY Projects 7 04-11-2004 09:06 PM
Best Wood? Joshsmit56001 DIY Projects 10 01-26-2004 04:41 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.