Worms in tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Brick

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey--

I am still new to aquariums, so pardon my ignorance.

I have three tanks, two of which are giving me problems at the moment. I have two 5 gal tanks, one which developed small tiny parasites that looked more like pieces of lint than anything else. They are barely visible (though they might be nematodes, I am not sure). The first 5 gal housed one female beta and three snails- since the parasite killer tabs were not safe for the snails, I removed and attempted to wash off the snails and transferred them to the second 5gal. Now the second 5 gal is also infected and I am SURE it did not have them before.

How can I make sure that the snails are clean so that they do not keep bringing the parasites with them, since all 5 snails are now in the parasite infested tanks? I know that these tiny parasites are probably more of a nuisance than a danger, but I want them gone.

Also, is there any special care I should be applying to the live plants/decor/filters and the like to ensure that I will not have them again?

Thanks!

The parasites arise when you overfeed your fish, and food is left to rot. I had the same problem with my 5, all I did was do a 50% water change and then the next day 25%, and it cleared the problem right up. Oh, and make sure you use a gravel vac.

You say the parasites hicthhiked with the snails? I'm sorry, I should've read the all of it before jumping to conclusions, I apologize.

Yeah, the second infestation hitchhiked with the snails... I bet the first infestation was probably due to the feeding thing; the snail food is not always finished and the setup of the tank makes it hard to remove.