Are Flourish and Flourish Excel safe for shrimp?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

octanejunkie

Aquarium Advice Freak
According to the labels of both bottles, Seachem says both products are safe for inverts, esp shrimp.

However, my LFS told me NO!

What's the experienced consensus?

The LFS is wrong. I've used both in all my shrimp tanks before and never had an issue.

Copper is really the only thing you have to worry about fertilizer wise, and neither of those products have it, though I think API Leaf Zone may.

No I think flourish has copper

Leaf zone has it too and im not 100% positive on the flourish

The Copper in Flourish Complete is minuscule. I also use root caps with Copper. I have CRS that are VERY sensitive. I use normal Ferts in their tank. I do use Half doses of Excel if Im just starting out to get them used to it, then I'll up the dosage gradually.

Fish Meds with Copper will Kill your Shrimpies !

The Copper in Flourish Complete is minuscule. I also use root caps with Copper. I have CRS that are VERY sensitive. I use normal Ferts in their tank. I do use Half doses of Excel if Im just starting out to get them used to it, then I'll up the dosage gradually.

Fish Meds with Copper will Kill your Shrimpies !

Yes thats true. Ive used flourish in the past with shrimp tanks and they were fine. No harm done

Copper is usually only an issue in some of the water soluble salt forms, such as are used for treating ich or in snail control products.

The amounts in most fertilizers and foods rarely, if ever, causes problems in inverts. Even copper pipes don't cause a problem.