Bamboo shrimp

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fin35

Aquarium Advice Activist
I’m new to this hobby. I ended up with a bamboo shrimp in my heavily planted 10 gallon tank due to ignorance. A lady at an aquarium told me they were scavengers, last time I ever get an animal without doing research first. Anyway, she was doing really well, and I had her a month, she was fanning most of the time, I was spot feeding her fry powder and algae. I started out with blue gravel from Walmart and ended up hating it because I wanted it to look natural and planted. I ended up changing out the substrate to sand, I figured it would be ok since I’m spot feeding anyway and I kept all the filter media. After that she wasn't fanning as much but she was still fanning a bit. She was walking around the tank more. On a whim this same lady says dwarf Mexican crayfish are great scavengers and are peaceful and won’t bother fish or shrimp. I wanted something to pick up the left over food the shrimp was missing to prevent from polluting my tank. The day I introduced them, it must of scared the bamboo, she was running around the tank as fast as I’ve ever seen. The next day, I catch the Mexican dwarf crayfish attached to my Bettas fins so I return them. My Bamboo girl doesn’t fan or move all day. I have a lid on my tank but there is a small opening, well this morning we see her on the kitchen floor, she got out and went a pretty far distance. I’m surprised she even survived the fall from the tank stand down. I feel terrible, she must of been freaked out by the visitors? Anyway, I’m pretty sure she’s dead, but she did move when I picked her up, it looked like a reflex reaction. I have her in the tank now, it’s been an hour and she’s just floating there dead. I don’t want to take her out if she’s still alive, but I also don’t want her to be dead and cause an ammonia spike