Beggining Shrimp Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tinyninjafishy

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hey everybody, I'm new to shrimp and have a couple questions as to whether I am doing the right thing and any advice is helpful. I don't have it set up yet, but want it perfect when I do. This is the set up:
- 5.5 Aqueon Glass Aquarium
- 38cm aquaglo light
- 5.5 incandescent hood
- jet black 5lb gravel
- small peice of Malaysian wood
- Java moss
- other quick growing plants (any ideas?)
- about 10-15 shrimp to start
- sponge filter

How long should I have the tank running before I put the shrimp in? do I feed them everyday? and any other helpful advice would be awesome!!!
thanks!

With shrimps. Your best doing a fish less cycle for the best chance of success because shrimps are more sensitive to poor water quality than fish. They don't need to be fed to often, I feed mine once ever second day. I feed them blanched zucchinis, algae wafers and occasional bloodworms. Sponge filter is good for shrimps :) hope this helps

Sponge filter is the way to go. Let it cycle for about a month. Leave the light on at least 12 hours a day to get some good algae growth going. The need a good layer of biofilm to eat in the tank. I recommend cherry shrimp at first they are the hardiest shrimp. Ghost shrimp are good too but they won't reproduce in fresh water, the shrimp lets need brackish water. My shrimp tank walls are green on the back and sides and that's where the babies hang out picking at the green buffet on the wall.

hmmm that's very interesting and also very helpful! RCS are definitely the plan! if they start to breed out of control what do you suggest doing? (sidenote: I'm doing this in a college dorm room haha)

also, for water changes, what do you suggest putting in the water to make it safe?