Help, 2 cherry shrimp dead :(

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Luce

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi guys, in need of some advice.

I have a 40L heavily planted tank, with ADF's, cherry shrimps, and Amano shrimps. Recently, 17th November I found a small cherry shrimp had died and today 28th November another cherry shrimp has died. I'm not a shrimp expert but I got these guys in mid-October and they've been doing fine. I feed them crushed Novo Prawn food I got off amazon and other food they get from the frog's leftovers (Mysis shrimp, brine shrimp, larvae, and pellets).

Prior to a couple of weeks ago I was doing 10-15 % small water changes twice a week to stop any ammonia spikes from the frog's food. I have been busy with work lately and have only done one or two 25% water changes a week or less (I read somewhere 50% changes can harm shrimps). My sponge media was falling apart so I had to replace that on the 24th of November I rinsed the new one in old tank water before placing it in and I didn't change the carbon filter.

Anyway, everything was fine till recently two shrimp have died. I always test my water and I've never had ammonia 0ppm or nitrates above say 0-5ppm. I have tested today as follows:
pH: 7.4
Ammonia: 0.25-0.50ppm
Nitrite: 0ppm
Nitrate: 10ppm
Temp: frequently kept at 26-28 degrees celcius
I use Prime with every water change 15 drops and don't use fertilizer.

I would also like to add I purchased some Limnophila Sessiliflora on the 7th November from a buyer I've purchased from before, I rinsed these under the tap and inspected them thoroughly (honestly I've never trusted myself to try the diluted bleach bath things). The shrimp seemed to love them and I'm unsure they are the cause of the shrimp deaths unless they were fertilized with anything containing copper but surely they would have died pretty fast upon planting them.