HELP broken snail shell

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AprilMDEE

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I was cleaning the gravel in my aquarium with the worst tool ever! Its the gravel cleaner with the tube you have to pump up and down to gain suction and when doing this I broke my nitrite snails shell pretty bad. I can't tell if his body is exposed or not. its from the side to the back almost. I feel awful!! I've had this little guy for about a year and he has been doing so good and now I've done this. Please any advice is greatly appreciated! I've called local 911 vets and they kind of laugh and dismiss me. 1. how can I tell if his body is exposed and 2. how can I fix it so he doesn't die or suffer! I've attached a picture. I hope you can see it. This is my first time posting so I'm not sure if I'm doing it correctly.

Attachments

• 20210429_215030.jpg
    20210429_215030.jpg
    178.9 KB · Views: 19
  • 20210429_222648.jpg
    20210429_222648.jpg
    224.2 KB · Views: 22
Last edited:
I can't really see from the picture, any chance you can try taking him out of the tank or taking another photo?
Try not to worry.