Shrimplets!!! Any advice??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SteffeyJ

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hello all!!
Today I noticed my first shrimplets! I could see at least 5 of them and 2 different sizes. (Which i knew i had AT typoLEAST 2 very berried females)
Anyways, I've been using BacterAE about once a week. (And only a TINY amount) and i have crushed up a tiny shrimp algae wafer and put it in. (Also about once a week.)
I have some crushed coral in the tank... what other ways can I add calcium?
The shrimp do molt just fine.. so I think the crushed coral is working fine. I also have a TINY piece of cuttle bone in there somewhere. (Its always magically moved around! Lol!)
Any advice would be GREATLY appreciated as this is my first time having baby shrimp!
And I am VERY excited!
Thank you!!
:) Jasmine.

Last edited by a moderator:
Finding the first babies is such a thrill!

Firstly, do you have the intakes covered with a prefilter sponge??? I think I recall that you do.

You can order shrimp fry food. I am using Glasgarten Shrimp Baby, and all the shrimp enjoy it. There are other brands as well. This one is the tiniest balls. The adult food is actually a powder which seems odd to me but it seems to readily enjoyed as well.

The babies should be fed near where you see them hang out. Yes they can eventually go towards food, but it is a sure bet to put it right where they are.

I also used a little glass food dish so I could watch them and the adults eat and it can help keep the food from polluting the substrate, reducing the need to vac the substrate.

You can use a pipette to target the location to drop the food.

But it isn't necessary.

I do water changes by using a cup which is under the overflow of the HOB filter. That way it is not as big of a chance to catch a shrimp.

I actually have a very small power head on that tank