Snail Disposal

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rhiann

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm relatively new to aquarium keeping, and I have a snail tank with a few types of snails. I'm starting to see eggs crop up, and I just had a disturbing thought. I've read that some species are highly invasive. When I clean my tank and dispose of the water down a drain, what about all those eggs and possibly tiny snails? They shouldn't go into the water system, right? Is this something aquarists are concerned with, and how to we address it?

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

If they are flush down the drain, chlorine will kill them. If you want you can freeze some up the stuff that has snail eggs and snails. But i really doubt snails can survive the chlorine.

If they are flush down the drain, chlorine will kill them. If you want you can freeze some up the stuff that has snail eggs and snails. But i really doubt snails can survive the chlorine.

Don't flush anything down a drain. Advice like this is immoral and unethical. It's reasons like this that areas are now inundated with overpopulation of invasive species.

Sent from my iPhone that doesn't like me. Or you !!

I'm relatively new to aquarium keeping, and I have a snail tank with a few types of snails. I'm starting to see eggs crop up, and I just had a disturbing thought. I've read that some species are highly invasive. When I clean my tank and dispose of the water down a drain, what about all those eggs and possibly tiny snails? They shouldn't go into the water system, right? Is this something aquarists are concerned with, and how to we address it?

Perhaps, to allow you to clean your tank without getting any potential eggs down the drain, you could do the following: