snail shell SUPER thin - Help??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

allthegrayfish

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey Everyone!!
I am a complete tank newb, and i made the mistake of believing the fish store when they said mystery snails dont need much. Should have known better, they sell those moss balls that have been killing peoples tanks.

I have been reading some of your threads, and I think that what is happening is a combo of nutrition lack, and PH, but I am really not sure.
Poor baby's shell is super thin in the back, and i feel awful for her! Behaviorwise, she disappeared for Months (I had NO IDEA where to find her) and after a recent cleaning she re-emerged. She's usually just hanging out on the back wall, which i think is why i didnt notice this WAY earlier.

I don't know where to start, and I know this is BAD. What can I do ASAP to support this baby and get her healthier? Where do I start? What are the steps? I'm going to go get the water tested today, to see what to do there, but what do I feed her?? whats going to give her the best jumpstart?

apologies for the picture clarity.

Lil Snail is in a 20gal tank with 2 orange 50 cent goldfish and an amazon sword plant thats coming back to life after the fish tore it up. not much else goin on. I told you i'm a newb, right? I'll do what i gotta to get her OK though. For reference, Ionce raised guppies to feed my turtles so they would have quality food....I will do what i need to. hahahaha.

I started this setup to entertain my terminally ill, crippled cat. She doesn't care about it, so now I have a commitment that will last longer than the cat....

Attachments

• 20200119_132130.jpg
    20200119_132130.jpg
    128.8 KB · Views: 85
  • 20200119_132052.jpg
    20200119_132052.jpg
    133.2 KB · Views: 79
So sorry to hear about the cat and your tank troubles.