What Kind Of Shrimp To Start Breeding?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Radisho

Aquarium Advice Newbie
So, I am new to this hobby, but I have had family fish tanks before. As I've grown more interesting in actually getting into fishkeeping, I have wanted to start breeding fish. I have been researching aquariums for about a year now and I have actually scaped a few tanks forpeople, so my knowledge isn't lacking, its just experience. I have a 40 gallon breeder that I just upgraded my 2 hermit crabs from, so now it is empty. I was thinking of seting up a "community breeding" tank. My plan was to breed some kind of endler/guppy, have a pair of small plecos(bristlenose/sultans/zebras), and shrimp. I have narrowed down my other options to a few species but the shrimp have been giving me the most trouble. There are so many colors of Neocaridina davidi, and I am just lost. I feel like if I breed just Red Cherry Shrimp, there will be nobody to buy them because there are so many other places to buy them from. Also, I feel that with the more expensive shrimp, I don't want to mess up and throw away like $50 on a starting colony. Somebody please help me decide!

If you are breeding other community fish in the same tank you’re unlikely to have such a surplus that you need to worry too much about selling them. All fish will snack on the babies except maybe otos. If the tank is well planted they may well out breed predation but most community tanks won’t have swarms of shrimp even if they’re breeding well. Just well fed fish! I definitely would not put expensive shrimp in with fish so I’d stick with the neos both for hardiness and because they’re fairly easy on the wallet.