8'x8' Above Ground Pond in Austin, TX (I'm a Beginner)...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Punju

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello all...

I'm a beginner to all of this, so please bare with me...

I will give a little background about my situation so that people can fully understand what I'm trying to do, and then maybe can help me easiest.

I live in Austin, TX, and own a business there (for those that are curious, it is a smoking lounge where people smoke Hookah, a waterpipe that one smokes flavored tobacco out of). I recently had an 1100 sq ft deck built, and would like to add a little "flavor" to the center of it. At night there is 25 watt overhead string lights that illuminate the area quite nicely.

Today, I visited my local Home Depot and saw a constructed, above ground pond made out of landscape lumber. It used "pond liner" to keep the water contained. It had no fish in it, however, did have miscellaneous plant life. It was approximately 8 feet by 4 feet -- standing about 2 feet tall.

I would like to construct a similar pond, with the only changes being that it would be an 8 foot by 8 foot pond and would have fish.

Now as many of you may know, Austin, Texas is a warm climate region with the worst temperatures in the Winter time reaching maybe 29F for 1 night at the 5am hour and quickly rising back up to the mid 40s during the day.

Are the any suggestions, pros/cons, or other advice anyone can give? Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am getting a little free time this weekend, and I thought it would be a great project.

Some questions that I can think of off the top of my head that would help being addressed are:

1) How soon can fish be introduced?
2) I read the article (sticky) about the plant life, but more accurate suggestions to which plant life I should keep considering size and climate.