CO2 levels in ponds

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

frog girl

Aquarium Advice Freak
I'm new at this & have both a pond & aquarium. (in summer) Since my pond get plenty of sunlight & enough nutrients from whatever leaves I fail to clean up, my bog gardens & turtles & fish would it be safe to assume that CO2 is the limiting nutrient for plant growth?

Does anyone add CO2 to ponds?? Wouldn't it help the plants produce more oxygen & make the fish happier just like in an aquarium??

Dear frog girl.
Your fellow writers wont put you right but I will
Co2 is the code for carbon dioxide and we hope you have some in your pond together with your fish. if you have plants in the water they give off co2 and oxygen in cycles(day & night). So the introduction of co2 is done at night time by the plants and visa versa.
The deciding factor for plant growth is Nitrate(fertiliser) which is produced through the natural fish cycle--- Fish introduce ammonia (by product of fish waste) The natural cycle turns the ammonia into NitrIte which in turn feed nitrobacteria who process this into NitrAte.
Feed your fish more--- produce more ammonia--- nitrobacter eat it & out comes more Nitrate The ultimate food for plants.
The natural cycle. The only problem is that this has to be a gradual process or too much Nitrite or Ammonia will kill your fish. If you want to increase nitrate production to make your plants grow Think about a filter system with a very big base for the nitrobactum to grow.
Forget about the co2 someones winding you up.
Regards