HELP! I am a teacher who needs advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sinda Jackson

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am a new teacher taking on the task of building a pond. We are starting this project blindly and so I am here to ask for advice. The studnets and I have made list of materials but are not sure if they are completely what we need. Any advice you are willing to share will be a great help. Thank you!

First, welcome to AA!

I think a bit more details might get you better advice. What is the goal of building the pond, what do you intend to keep in it, where is it located, size, etc. When we know what you are trying to achieve, we might have more suggestions.

The school is allowing us 3/4 of an acre. We are wanting to use it for educational purposes. The students are thinking about using Tilapia. We are not sure where we really need to go with this project. We have information on needing an liner and filter, pump. I am mostly looking for ideas on building and caring for a pond. Any information will help.

This is my friends and ex coworkers business.

Frontier Ponds Home Page

It might help you, it should, Richard Petty was happy with his pond from these guys.

They have fish list, plant list, check thru the site real well and most your answers are there.

Building takes alot of engineering and excavating skills, shovels wont do.

I am not really a pond person (read lots, but hadn't got around to building one yet.) So real pond owners please chime in!

3/4 acre is a large area. I don't suppose you want to have a pond that size! <If you do, you are looking at professional engineering help, clay liner, etc. .. way out of my league.>

My neighborhood school did something like that. They have around 150x50' to work with, and did a pond/wetland habitat. That was a major project & took some 2 years.