New Pond

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gg99free

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm going to start on setting up a new pond in our backyard soon and was wondering if anyone had any advice. This will be a brand new setup and it will be a small, dugout, 6x6 pond or so. Any suggestrions on liner, pumps, depth, etc.....

What kind of fish would I be able to keep? Would Koi be too big? What about Shubukins? I heard they are not as big and expensive but almost as nice?

I am a total novice on ponds so any help would be greatly appreciated.

I'll probably start posting some pics of the general area that the pond is going in and keep posting during construction. If anyone has any suggestions during any of the process, I would be happy to hear it.

By the way, I would like to hide the pumps entirely and not use a drop in pump that shows the hoses if possible. Is that possible? How do you seal the liner around the pump? Oh well, I'll just have to wait for some of you guys to respond back.

Thanks

George

woo hoo george!, you're gonna love that pond. i have had a few that i built in the past (none currently but have one in the planning stage) and i loved them.
6x6 is a fine size but depth would depend on where you live and if you want to keep the fish outdoors for the winter. 3' is a good all purpose depth. if it gets hot outside they can go deep to keep cool or in winter to keep warm.
I have never tried an underground pump/filter system so i cant advise there. you can hide the wire and hoses with plants, rocks, decor...etc.