20g long tank start up???

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

neeker4

Aquarium Advice Activist
So I am not new to the aquatic world I have 2 fresh water tanks currently, but I am new to AA and to the world of salt water. I have been doing some research on salt water set ups, but it all is confussing and contradicting at best. I am looking into getting a 20G long tank and starting a SW aquarium. How difficult a project will this be realistically? I don't really want to go over the top, manly looking for a little coral life, maybe some rock life, a few smaller fish and possible an invertibrate or two. What are the BASICS I will need to get started? I will have about $1000 to start with...gotta love late tax returns :p...Any advice and help will be greatly appreciated!!!

Hi, welcome to AA! SW can be a bit confusing but if you do your research and plan carefully you will be fine. I jumped straight into SW with almost no aquarium experience at all.

If you want to start out small, a 20G tank is a good size. Generally speaking larger tanks are easier for beginners because they have extra water volume that can make mistakes a bit less costly. The basic SW aquarium consists of the tank, substrate (usually sand), heater, filter and/or powerheads, live rock, and lights. In a tank as small as 20G you will not need a protein skimmer. Some prefer to go natural and use live rock as their only filtration while others use filters as well--canisters or HOBs are generally good. For corals you will need strong lighting, T5 is recommended.

There is a great article here called Stock list and tips for maintaining your SW tank that goes into depth about everything I mentioned. It should be very helpful. If you are starting out simple, I would have a FOWLR at first and go reef once you have some experience. I think $1000 would be enough to start out.