29 g. start up reef tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jwalsh

Aquarium Advice Freak
so i have recently undergone the task of setting up a saltwater tank. i am new to this so there is a huge learning curve involved. i have been doing my research... alot of research!! lol but anyways my tank has been up for about 5 days and i have been reading a ton about cycling my tank. from what i came up with was to put in some live rock so i went and got 3 lbs and about 6 lbs of base rock per the recomendation of the lfs. she said it will become live rock as the tank matures. and then they told me to put in a table shrimp. is this ok because from what i am reading it pretty much says do one or the other... i have live rock and a shrimp. is this ok or should i take the shrimp out? i just put it in a few hours ago. please help me. im kind of lost on this one. google only took me so far on this one lol.
thanks in advance for your help.
-Josh

The shrimp will become waste and start the cycle. Its better than put live fish.

ok thanks guys but is it ok that i already have live rock. its not going to hurt the live rock is it?

Nope, in fact the presence of the live rock will HELP your cycle as there will be die off from it that will also produce ammonia. I;d put as much rock in the tank now as you can, base or live so that it all can benefit from the cycling. More rock, more bacteria, easier cycling and a good bacteria base as far as bioload.

well thanks for the info i will get more tomorrow when i get paid. how much would u put in a 29g tank? im not sure how much to get... i want it to look good but i dont want to much rock... and any idea how many fish i can put in that tank when the time does come?

I have about 40lbs total in my biocube and had a bit more when I had my regular rectangular 29. It's about 1.5 -2 lbs per gallon recommended.