Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-30-2004, 08:19 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
Base rock is dead and there should be no die off. Rinse good with fresh or salt water and toss in tank using fresh will not make a difference because it is dead rock. PH not running will not make a difference.
__________________

__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS https://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2004, 08:28 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
I'm not checking for dieoff, I'm checking for handling contaminents etc. - I dont know where it's come from :P There's some black fluff inside it and different coloured patches on the outside etc.
__________________

__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2004, 01:01 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Does anyone know the answer to this one?

The rock has been in the container (with heater and powerhead) for 4 days, but the powerhead hasn't been on all the time - it's been switched off for 10 hours each night.

Does the powerhead issue matter, or, if I test for ammonia now and its 0, am I good to go?
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2004, 02:01 PM   #24
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkW19
Does the powerhead issue matter,
Not really, there's no life on dry base rock or die off so nothing to keep alive or real need to aerate.

Quote:
if I test for ammonia now and its 0, am I good to go?
Yes

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2004, 02:14 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Cheers Steve - you just suggested putting the rock in the container with a powerhead for a few days ("you can let it sit in a pail of SW with carbon and a powerhead for a few days") so I thought it must be important - I guess if anything is on the rock (contaminents etc.) then the powerhead will help them get into the water, and show in ammonia?

So, if ammonia is now at 0, the rock is perfectly harmless?
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2004, 02:24 PM   #26
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkW19
you just suggested putting the rock in the container with a powerhead for a few days ("you can let it sit in a pail of SW with carbon and a powerhead for a few days") so I thought it must be important - I guess if anything is on the rock (contaminents etc.) then the powerhead will help them get into the water, and show in ammonia?
Correct. The only reason I suggested that in the first place was as you said, the possibility of contaminates. The rock you where buying was freely accessable to be handled by the general public and a possible concern. Otherwise it would not have been a consideration.

Quote:
So, if ammonia is now at 0, the rock is perfectly harmless?


Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2004, 03:46 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Steve: just tested ammonia and it's 1 mg/l.

But, I used used SW from my waterchange (ie. just come out of the tank that I wouldn't thrown away otherwise). Is it possible the ammonia would have been present in that water, and with the bacteria not being present in my container to convert it, it's simply escalated to 1mg/l?

Anyway, what do I do now? :P
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2004, 05:10 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
Its fine put it in the tank.
Put it in the tank...
You already did more then most............
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS https://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2004, 05:53 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
lol...

If it's given ammonia off though?!?

Also nice red and yellow patches appeared on it and black fluff/dust etc. :P
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2004, 11:56 PM   #30
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkW19
I used used SW from my waterchange (ie. just come out of the tank that I wouldn't thrown away otherwise). Is it possible the ammonia would have been present in that water, and with the bacteria not being present in my container to convert it, it's simply escalated to 1mg/l?
I would suggest testing it again. Simpley using water from the main tank is not really enough to spur on ammonia. Was the carbon also from the main tank and "used" before?

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 03:03 PM   #31
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
I didn't use carbon (my filter won't fit in my container and I dont have any carbon yet :P).

I guess the ammonia came from the rock then - how do I get rid of the ammonia, so to speak?
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 04:06 PM   #32
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Scrub the rock with a clean brush, do a water change every few days, wait a few more days, retest and see where you stand in about a week. Seems odd to have ammonia without a source but it's more than possible there could have been some dried organic matter you didn't see.

Your not trying to cycle the rock or cure it really. You just want to make sure that it does not add impurities/die off to the display. Once you gte a zero ammonia reading your good to go. Just keep doing the above 'till you get a zero reading.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 06:00 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
I scrubbed all I could before I put it in the last time - its hard to get into all the crevices etc!

Hmm, I'm starting to think maybe liverock was the way to go...perhaps easier!
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 06:03 PM   #34
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Would have been the same if not more work but quite alot more costly$$

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 06:06 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Hehe...

Grr, was hoping I wouldn't have to do all this...

Scrubbing will be useless because I've scrubbed all I can...

I guess I can't do anything else if ammonia keeps showing up? My waterchange equipment is actually the equipment I was using for the rock, so it's very hard for me to do a waterchange for the rock :P
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 06:08 PM   #36
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Good job I didn't just put it in my tank I guess? :P
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 06:15 PM   #37
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Yup

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 06:27 PM   #38
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
If I do as you suggest, and scrub and try again, and I still get ammonia, will I have to actually "cure" the rock?
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 10:11 PM   #39
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Not in the truest sense, if you do the water changes it will go alot faster. If you cannot/do not want to do the water changes just let it ride. The ammonia will eventually read zero, you just need to be patient.

I'd love to know why the ammonia though, doesn't make a bit of sense for dry base rock.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2004, 02:47 PM   #40
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Handling contaminates perhaps?

So basically I'm waiting for the rock to cycle? Could take a good few weeks?
__________________

__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
base, rock, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Baserock clowninround Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 03-27-2007 05:56 PM
Cleaning baserock fishman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 03-21-2006 01:14 AM
Stocking Baserock bj5z25 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 06-30-2005 12:13 PM
Cincerblock Baserock gozetec02 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 11 04-25-2005 12:24 AM
Baserock Question Goldie Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 16 08-26-2003 01:36 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.