adding fish, whats the timeframe

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

smoothie7

Aquarium Advice Activist
I have a 90 gallon that I am currently stocking. What kind of timeframe should I have when putting fish in so that they are happy and healthy? I currently have 4 chromis that I put in 6 days ago. How fast do people stock their tank?

I'm no expert but I added 3 chromis in my new tank after it had matured for 3 months as was new and i kept an eye on all the chemicals etc and added about 3 weeks later. I've now got clowns, goby, angel and some shrimps and crabs and there all happy. I did add some pink antheas but they didn't survive but that was because they didn't want to eat so they was eaten!!!

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

In a newer tank i would say add a fish or two every two weeks, on average. That gives the system time to adjust to the new bioload and for the fish to get comfortable in the new tank. :)
The only time I would say to add more than that at a time is when you are adding small schooling fish, like chromis. I added 10 a few weeks ago all at once, but my tank is established and is a 180g so there is more room for error.

I added 4 a week ago today and one was dead this morning. I have heard that these guys need to be in odd numbers. I did notice that two of them had little marks on them maybe where they brushed up against a rock or something. I wander if a big fight went down last night? It was the littlest one of the group.

I added 4 a week ago today and one was dead this morning. I have heard that these guys need to be in odd numbers. I did notice that two of them had little marks on them maybe where they brushed up against a rock or something. I wander if a big fight went down last night? It was the littlest one of the group.