Advice on setting up a classroom tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

New Aquatics Teacher

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello all,

I'm a high school teacher setting up a new Aquatic Science class. I am a bit embarrassed to admit it, but while I've worked for major aquariums and have lots of time diving and viewing fish in the field, I've never actually kept a private aquarium or set up a small salt water tank. I'm setting up a 40 gallon tank in my classroom that I'll be keeping store bought fish in, my students will also be setting up tanks but they'll be keeping fish they have collected locally, so I'm using my tank for bright and colorful fish. I've included a complete description of my tank set up so far and my basic plans for this year on my profile. If you have any advice or thoughts about my plans I'd be happy to hear them. When I have some more funding next year I want to move up to a larger tank (70 to 90 gallons) and set up a more diverse environment with corals anemones echinoderms etc. along with some larger fish, but for now I don't even have any lights a protein skimmer or a tank heater (and can't afford them) so I'm trying to keep it fairly simple.

Ok, adding this from my profile because apparently it doesn't actually fit there: