Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-24-2005, 04:14 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Worthington OH
Posts: 164
Send a message via AIM to matman
Algae?

I have a 12 gal Nano. I"m getting some nice algae on my LR, however not on the glass or the back. Should i be getting more algae after about 3 weeks?

Also...there are A LOT of pods in my tank. Is it ok if there are a bagillion of them!?
__________________

__________________
matman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2005, 04:23 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Panama City Beach, FL
Posts: 547
Pods are a sign that your tank is doing well. Get something that eats them like a sea horse or manderin.

I dont know about the algae though.
__________________

__________________
JPloman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2005, 05:33 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,543
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
Quote:
Get something that eats them like a sea horse or manderin.
Maybe a good idea, but important to mention that seahorses are really meant for a species only tank. Also, manderin gobies would not thrive at all in a 12 gal nano. They easily will reach 4 inches or so, and they have quite difficult eating habits. Most reject any prepared foods.

What color is the algae that is on your rock? And how are you cycling?
__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2005, 05:49 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Panama City Beach, FL
Posts: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by Devilishturtles
Also, manderin gobies would not thrive at all in a 12 gal nano. They easily will reach 4 inches or so, and they have quite difficult eating habits. Most reject any prepared foods.
I thought they, like sea horses, only eat pods? The guy at my lfs told me that what they do is watch the rocks and such for the pods then when they see them its dinner time.
__________________
JPloman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2005, 05:58 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,543
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
Quote:
I thought they, like sea horses, only eat pods? The guy at my lfs told me that what they do is watch the rocks and such for the pods then when they see them its dinner time.
Sounds right. I was mainly talking about the size constraints of the tank, and the fact that they will not eat anything prepared (flakes, pellets, etc.)
__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2005, 07:01 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Worthington OH
Posts: 164
Send a message via AIM to matman
The algae is brown and i'm cycling with an ocellari, who is doing quite well
__________________
matman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2005, 08:26 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 384
i'm afraid to say that brown algae isn't good. the kind of algae you want on your rocks is called coraline algae and its purple. brown algae can be taken care of by the addition of some snails and hermits. dont worry about the pods, they're a good thing. but i would worry about your clown, the only fish ive heard that are good for cycling are damsels. but most people would recommend fishless cycling. i did mine with a piece of coctail shrimp from my grocery store. it gives you the ammonia spike to get things started, and then no fish have to go through the stress that cycling causes them.

how long have you been cycling? and what are your parameters?
__________________
mle421 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2005, 08:35 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Apalachin, NY
Posts: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by matman
The algae is brown and i'm cycling with an ocellari, who is doing quite well
The brown algae is a normal part of cycling & will go away with time, assuming your water quality is good (I believe low salicylates will help). The clown probably won't be doing so well as the cycle continues. Most people around here are strong believers in cycling without the use of fish, and I've come to believe they are correct.
__________________
copi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2005, 08:39 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rocky Mount VA
Posts: 943
If the brown algea is dust like when disturbed then it is diatoms. It is very normal in a new tank. They are caused by silicates in the water. They will burn out on their own. As stated above you can add some snails and hermits to help but it is not needed. It is not too late to return the clown and do a fishless cycle like mle421 suggested. The clown will work to cycle the tank but For me it is too much of a chance to lose a $25 fish. As well as stress the fish through the cycle.
__________________
Vote for AquariumAdvice

28gal bowfront
40lbs livesand(bag from LFS), 30lbs live rock(LR.com)
2 O. Clowns
1 peppermint shrimp, 5 red leg hermit crabs,
4 mexican turbo snails, 15 nassarius snails
ricordea mushroom, candy cane coral,
super color polyps, hairy mushrooms
bubble coral, hawiian feather duster
coralife lunar 2x65, HOT magnum canister
10 Gal refugium(chaeto) & seaclone skimmer
RMPD109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2005, 10:04 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,543
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
Quote:
The clown will work to cycle the tank but For me it is too much of a chance to lose a $25 fish. As well as stress the fish through the cycle.
Agreed. You can cycle just as fast using raw shrimp, or even just live rock. Don't worry about the brown algae, as already stated. It is just diatoms, and will go away on it's own. At this point, I don't know if I'd advise getting even snails or hermits until you atleast have minimal ammonia levels. You are sure to have an ammonia spike at some point, if not already. How long has it been since you have tested your water? What did it read?
__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2005, 04:50 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Worthington OH
Posts: 164
Send a message via AIM to matman
My ammonia levels have been at zero for a few days now...i dont know what that means....but i think thats good
__________________
matman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2005, 12:32 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 384
whats your nitrite and nitrate readings? how long has the tank been up and running?
__________________
mle421 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2005, 03:00 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Worthington OH
Posts: 164
Send a message via AIM to matman
the tank has been going for about 3 weeks...maybe a month. NitrITES are at zero. However, recently my NitRATES have been on the high side i believe 40.

Also, how can I control the pH. My pH has been high when i've been testing.
__________________
matman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2005, 06:38 PM   #14
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,543
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
Quote:
Originally Posted by matman
the tank has been going for about 3 weeks...maybe a month. NitrITES are at zero. However, recently my NitRATES have been on the high side i believe 40.

Also, how can I control the pH. My pH has been high when i've been testing.
Your cycle has not started yet. When it does, you will see ammonia spikes. I find it odd that you are seeing nitrate already, without ammonia or nitrites. Nitrates are the outcome of broken down nitrites and ammonia. What kind of test kit are you using? Are you sure it's a SW kit, and not a FW kit?

Also, what is your pH reading? With your salt and everything added in already, your pH should be about perfect. I'm suspecting again that maybe you aren't using a reliable test kit, or are testing your pH with a FW kit.
__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2005, 02:09 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Worthington OH
Posts: 164
Send a message via AIM to matman
OH.....MY.......GOODNESS.

I would like to admit EXTREME stupidity. My testing kit was for freshwater. I feel so stupid. Thank you for bringing that to my attention Devilish.

Wow.
__________________
matman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2005, 02:30 AM   #16
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,543
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
Quote:
Originally Posted by matman
OH.....MY.......GOODNESS.

I would like to admit EXTREME stupidity. My testing kit was for freshwater. I feel so stupid. Thank you for bringing that to my attention Devilish.

Wow.
No problem! Glad we got it figured out. Now get testing!
__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2005, 05:24 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Worthington OH
Posts: 164
Send a message via AIM to matman
ok, so. It turns out my testing kit is for both Fresh AND Saltwater. There is another label in the box that gives you the saltwater readings. Everything seemed normal. Ammonia is at 0. So are the Nitrites. The Nitrates are the only things that are on the high side still...around 40. The label says 40 is the highest it can be in the "safe" range.

This is confusing...being a newbie stinks!
__________________
matman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2005, 12:49 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 384
if thats the case, that amonia and nitrite are 0 and nitrate is 40 then your cycle might be finished. my cycle only lasted about 2 weeks with my 10 gallon. but i would keep testing for a few weeks before adding anything else to see if its stable.
__________________
mle421 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2005, 01:40 AM   #19
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,543
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
I agree with mle421. Sounds like your cycle is done, or almost there. Still, give it a few days or more and keep testing to make sure nothing comes up. Also, from the sounds of your description of the test kit, I'm going to venture a guess that you are using a strip, and not liquid kit? Am I right? If so, it's best (especially with SW) to have a liquid test kit. Readings are much more accurate this way.

A nitrate level of 40 is a tad on the high side, but nothing to freak out about yet. I would do a small water change tommorow, since you have the clown in there.
Speaking of which, how is Mr or Mrs clown fish doing?
__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2005, 12:41 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Worthington OH
Posts: 164
Send a message via AIM to matman
Well, actually, I have 2!

I added another recently, and both are doing very well! I was told that adding another clown was a risk seeing as how they are territorial, but they get along great! I turned on the light this morning to find them both hanging out in the corner of my tank together. Too cute. They are very hardy fish. The newest one will swim across the front of the tank and skim the surface of the water with his fin. Its very cool, and they eat the food right from my fingers!

I will give it a couple of days, and i'll post pictures if i add anything soon!!

Thanks!

p.s. The fish names are Cowboy and Jack
__________________

__________________
matman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dark green algae on sand, beard algae on plants push350z Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 11-04-2006 09:53 AM
Macro Algae Wanted To Buy...(Update on Ducky's Algae!) revhtree Archive 25 03-26-2005 06:56 PM
Flagfish, Algae Eating Shrimp, Siamese Algae Eaters Spoon Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 09-30-2003 11:51 AM
Algae eating snails & controlling algae growth Stoffer Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 09-24-2003 09:20 PM
Algae Algae Algae in my planted tank d9hp Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 13 05-17-2003 03:52 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.