Algae in a new set up?!?!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ff.rice

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hello all, I've had my tank set up and running now for about 3 weeks.... Everything has been going well, but tonight I noticed that I am starting to get some algae on the glass and also what looks to be algae on top of the sand in my sump. I was wondering if this is normal?!?! I am new to saltwater..... A little run down on what I'm running..... I have a 30 gallon tank with a 10 gallon sump devided into three sections, the first I have bio balls that came with the tank, middle I have 10# of live sand and about 3-4# of live rock, and third is just the return pump. In my DT I don't have anything in it yet. I am also running a HOB filter just for the extra filtration. I have a maxi jet 1200 in the tank also. I do not have test results yet, my API test kit is on the way so hopefully soon I can have some readings! In the next week or so I plan to put more live sand in my DT along with more live rock. I'm hoping this algae is just a bloom and normal during the cycle and that it will clear up but I was wondering if I should try to keep it off of the glass? Or leave it alone and let it do its thing? Any other suggestions are certainly welcome as well!! Thanx

Attachments

• image-3102205262.jpg
    image-3102205262.jpg
    132.4 KB · Views: 87
  • image-3237328892.jpg
    image-3237328892.jpg
    82.4 KB · Views: 133
It's just the tank cycling, the brown Rubbish should go away in about 3 weeks, just do 20% water changers every week, my tank has just cleared from the same stuff and everything is still alive and well.