Almost there! and these problems show up...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

curiousclam120

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi! I'm new to the saltwater hobby, but I've been doing a lot of research so that I can start up a 90 gallon mixed reef. I bought a 90 gallon glass aquarium, with the stand from craigslist. I didn't like the color of the stand so I painted over it. The paint peeled off so I decided I needed to sand it. Since March I have been sanding to the bare wood and for the past few months it has been rainy weather. The stand has got wet several times because it is outside, but it dried. I'm just afraid it won't hold up 1,000+ lbs. I sat on it and stood on it and it held up fine, but I'm not a fat person so that test didnt really make a difference lol:lol:. Anyway, I'm worried that if I use it, it will not hold all the weight of the aquarium and flood the whole upstairs (yes:eek:....shocker this tank is going on the 2nd floor)! I can't do a DIY stand either and I can't buy a $500 new stand. Also, I've been looking and there are no used stands that I could buy because my tank has weird dimensions
(60"L x 15.5"W). So should I just use the stand and hope for the best:(? Any advice would help! :flowers:

Ok if you are still reading this high-five to you! Moving on, my other very important problem is that I needed a glass or acrylic sump, but since there are weird dimensions the sump would have to be 36"L x 11"W. So it would have to be custom made and not only would that cost me more than $350 with all the shipping, but also it takes a long time to make (about a month or more) because it is custom made. And plus I want to start this tank already lol, but I won't rush too fast, patience is key! So I solved this problem by getting 2 trash bins from Costco (11" x 20" x 29"). It is too high, but I will cut it. So, my questions are: