Am I overstocked?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

KLehman72

Aquarium Advice Regular
Perhaps someone can lend some advice. I am new to saltwater aquatics and have a new setup with a 30 gallon bow front, LED Day/Lunar settings, Penguin Biowheel 150, Seaclone 100 skimmer, 60 pounds of live sand, and about 20 pounds live Fiji rock. The tank had cycled and Ammonia, Nitrites were zero and Nitrates were almost undetectable. I have the following in the tank:
2 Turbo Snails
5 Nassarius Snails
3 Astrea Snails
6 very small Hermits
1 Coral Banded Shrimp
2 Maroon Clowns
1 Flame Dwarf Angel
1 Royal Gramma Basslet
Feeding Ocean Nutrition Prime Reef flakes

Problem....Today, my Ammonia was at ,5ppm, Nitrites .5ppm and Nitrates were at 20-25 ppm. I immediately did a 10% PWC.

What may be the cause?
Am I overstocked?
How often/how much PWC?

Thank you guys so much....
Kevin

how long has your tank been setup? did you add all that ls at the same time?

hackteck said:
how long has your tank been setup? did you add all that ls at the same time?

Tank has been up a little over a month...livestock added over a 1 week period. I am concerned that I made a rookie mistake but don't want my fish to suffer for my mistake....help

I think the rule of thumb is to add 1 fish per week and at this point all you can do is PWC's as often as needed. Just test your H2o daily and keep us updated! Good luck

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium

XxVooDooxX said:
I think the rule of thumb is to add 1 fish per week and at this point all you can do is PWC's as often as needed. Just test your H2o daily and keep us updated! Good luck

Should I be doing 10%, more?

10% maybe 20% I'm not positive but if your doing it daily maybe just 10%. Hopefully someone with more experience in the matter will chime in

Mr X,