another newbie

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

katz

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
hello everyone,
i am new to the saltwater world, and am patiently excited. i have a 35 gal tank that is a week and a half old. i have about ten pounds of live base rock and two yellow tailed damsels to help cycle, they are doing well so far.
i have a 90 gallon tank with all the extra's coming in about a week. this will obviously be my main tank. just have a few questions, any help is much appreciated:

1. i top up the 35 gallon tank with freshwater every 3 days because salinity increases, with this continue to happen after cycling?

2. can i use the saltwater i take out to help start the new tank?

3. does anyone know if liverocks.com ships to canada (lfs want $10.00/lb) would it be wise at this time of year?

4. can this lr be used to help speed up the process of cycling or would the living organisms suffer or die because the tank has not cycled yet?

5. i would like a reef aquarium (who doesn't!), what are some beginner fish and how long before i could introduce some easier to keep coral.?

katz

I'm gonna let other, more experienced fishkeepers answer your questions, but I do like to take any ooprtunity to welcome new members. So....
:smilecolros: welcome to AA!

I would recommmend Robert Fenner's Conscientious Marine Aquarist for a good beginner book reference.

One thing I did note - I'd presume your salinity increases because of evaporation. Water evaporates but the salt stays. So, fresh (RO/DI preferably)water topoffs are gonna be needed in all SW scenarios. Post your lite info and there are those who can help you choose beginner corals. Eric Borneman's coral bokk is a good reference. Both books are availiable from this site's library.

Good luck!