Aquatic_Adam's Plunge Into SW Help and Journal Thread

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Aquatic_Adam

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hello all!

Been awhile since I have been back on this forum and this will be my first time taking the dive into SW. This thread will basically serve as my coverall for questions, pictures, and progress :)

Here is the gist, I have basically a blank canvas of a 125g aquarium that I would like to create a reef. Again, I have no experience with marine but I have had many a year with planted freshwater (gives me some cred right? Right?)

Here is my general thought process for what I want to see:

*I would like to create a sump/refugium as I do have many spare tanks lying around
*I would like to go LED (Build My LED to be exact)

I know that first thing's first, I need to add some support under my floors for this tank. That is step one. But while I am in the process of doing that, can I have some help making an equipment list?

Thanks all! Stay tuned for the evolution of this 125 to a reef!

Is the tank drilled? If not then now is the time to get it done, as long as the glass isnt tempered. This will make life alot easier on you. :)

You will need the normal stuff, like a heater....but also will need a protein skimmer for that size tank. Go for 1.5X times of the tank capacity as far as rating for the skimmer. Manufacturers always over rate their skimmers. lol
You will need approx. 150 lbs of rock and say 250lbs of sand. You can go with part live rock and part base rock which is waaaay cheaper than live rock. It will become live after a few weeks and in a few months you wont know the difference.