Beginner needs help with 35g Reef!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Johnafer

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey everyone,

So as the title gives away, I am completely new to the saltwater scene, though I am experienced with freshwater. I've completely cleaned out my old 35g and it's just sitting in my basement, so I've decided to try my skill at saltwater.

I do apologize but for any who are willing to help, you'll have to take baby steps with me only because I don't want to make any (big) mistakes..

I'm 100% open to all the advice that can be given! :)

I made a list of fish that I prefer to have in the tank and would like to see which would work best and if I'm able to keep all of the ones I want or have to cut out a few..

The rest of the list is pretty much asking for explanation because I don't know much about saltwater-specific equipment.. :confused:

STOCK

Fish:
Ocellaris Clownfish
Yellowtail Damsel
Royal Gramma Basselet
Firefish
Bicolor Dottyback
Blue & Pink Sea Star
Longnose Hawkfish

Coral/Anemones:
??
I have no clue, really.. I want anemones that will be able to house my clowns.

Cleanup Crew:
Misc Shrimps, Hermit Crabs, and Snails

Live Rock:
- Recommended Type (cured, base, ~ Fiji LR, etc..)
- How much in Lbs?

Live Sand (Or regular sand... what's the difference?):
- How much in Lbs
- A good setup in terms of how thick the layer of sand should be at the bottom of the tank. I read that people usually go for about 3"?

TANK + EQUIPMENT:

I already have a glass 35g tank that I used to use for freshwater... and that's literallly all I have now.

Can you guys lead me in the right direction in terms of:
- specific lighting (preferably based on the recommendations of corals)
- Maybe a specific hood/canopy that would work best with the specific lights
- LED's at night?
- Power heads
- Heaters