beginner setup questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

crage34

Aquarium Advice Freak
im a newbie and have been researching saltwater aquariums for awhile now... and am planing on buying my set up this week...i plan on going with a fish only with live rock set up....im gonna start with a 29 gallon tank.... i was wondering how much live rock that is recommended....i know most say 1-2lbs for every gal but i was wondering if i could us alil less so i would have more room in my tank but want enough for my fish to hide in....also i was wanted to ask about how long it would take for me to cycle my tank with the rock and sand in it....i know im gonna need a light and was thinking about using a penguin biowheel to filter....is ther any other equipment u recommend me buying...and how big of a heater should i get for this tank... i want to get started on my cycleing sooon so any advice is great....(im completely new)

If you want to use LR as your primary bio filter you should have at least 1lb per gallon. You will not need the biowheel as it will become a nitrate factory later on. I have a 46g and I went with 1lb per gallon of Fiji rock as it supposed to be more porous than Keys Rock (some folks may disagree). If you go with a fine sugar-sized argonite sand that will also become your filter so you should be able to get by with less rock if you keep a lite bio load. Definitely get yourself a good skimmer. I use a CPR Bakpak and it pulls gunk daily. You will also need good water circulation so go with 2 Maxijet 600 ph's and a 100w submersible heater. I cycled my rock in 3 weeks. HTH