Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-16-2017, 09:28 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
j.felician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 19
Best way to cycle a tank?

60g saltwater/reef tank
__________________

__________________
j.felician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2017, 09:31 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
arnoldndana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Evans, CO
Posts: 247
Just put some live rock in there after you set it up and put some smart start in it and it will cycle faster. You can go ahead and put snails and hermits in there once you get it set up and a couple of hardy fish
__________________

__________________
arnoldndana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2017, 09:45 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
j.felician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 19
Ok, Would it be the same process if I use mostly dry rock and some live?
__________________
j.felician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2017, 09:52 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
arnoldndana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Evans, CO
Posts: 247
I've never used dry rock
__________________
arnoldndana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2017, 11:57 PM   #5
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,244
You will need to present an ammonia source. There is an article about it in our articles section. I'm personally a fan of putting a cocktail shrimp in some pantyhose and letting nature take its course.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2017, 11:58 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
arnoldndana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Evans, CO
Posts: 247
I was going to use live rock out of my 55 gallon
__________________
arnoldndana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2017, 11:59 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
arnoldndana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Evans, CO
Posts: 247
Just didn't know whether I could put my cleaner crew in it while still cloudy. Would you brush the diatom algae off the rock before putting it in the new tank?
__________________
arnoldndana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 12:30 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
arnoldndana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Evans, CO
Posts: 247
Sorry wrong thread, lol
__________________
arnoldndana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 04:55 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
j.felician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 19
lol I figured
__________________
j.felician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 04:57 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
j.felician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post
You will need to present an ammonia source. There is an article about it in our articles section. I'm personally a fan of putting a cocktail shrimp in some pantyhose and letting nature take its course.


Thanks I was guessing that was my best bet
__________________
j.felician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 04:58 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
j.felician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by j.felician View Post
Thanks I was guessing that was my best bet


But can it be done with mostly dry rock and some live ? I'm a beginner sorry
__________________
j.felician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 06:42 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bribo12's Avatar

Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 9,471
Yes it is done the same way. You just add an ammonia source and let it begin. Then monitor the levels over the next couple weeks.
__________________
20 Gallon SPS reef
29 Gallon FW "fat catfish" tank
20 Gallon Long Dart Frogs "Zig" and "Zag"
bribo12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 08:51 PM   #13
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,244
Quote:
Originally Posted by j.felician View Post
But can it be done with mostly dry rock and some live ? I'm a beginner sorry
It can be done with all dry. The mix of things doesn't matter as the process of 'cycling' is building up that bacteria base through the nitrate cycle...hence the name. Having rock that is 'live' or already 'cured' would simply assist with speeding up the process.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 09:43 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
j.felician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 19
Thank u
__________________

__________________
j.felician is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best way to cycle a 45g tank Hart62 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 03-18-2013 01:53 PM
Best way to insta-cycle a new tank? Sssea Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 12 06-17-2011 11:38 PM
Added New Aqua Soil - Looking for Best Way to Re-cycle Tank LindaC Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 08-15-2006 02:10 PM
best way to cycle tank philc21 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 12-29-2003 06:48 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.