bought tank that had been up for 3 years

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ashobson

Aquarium Advice Regular
I bought a corner tank that is 54gal with live sand and 60 lbs of live rock it has one full grown convict blenny around 14" long in it . I kept all the water . I moved it about 40 miles I set it back up and I had an ammonia spike to about 1 it went down to 0 in a bout 1 day. I waited 1 week then added a small puffer and a sally litfoot and 2 brittle stars the ammonia has gone back up to 1 again I thought once the tank had cycled the ammonia would remain at 0 how high can the ammonia go before I lose my fish I don't want to lose any of these guys . The blenny was in it when I got it.

Attachments

• pict0027.jpg
    pict0027.jpg
    38.3 KB · Views: 131
I am not a SW expert but I would probably try some seachem stability. The bacteria may have suffered with the upheaval and move and what not. Stability will work in both SW and FW. Just follow the directions on the bottle for 7 days and everything should settle. I know not everyone buys into these additives but I have had a really good experience using this specific product.

Good Luck :morning:

Welcome to AquariumAdvice.com!!! :smilecolros: :smilecolros: :smilecolros: